Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

TV is deleting station from channels

 

I bought a NS-2205 10na19 TV two days ago. Ran the scan everything went fine(antenna) 

one of my wife's favorite stations has a weak signal and sometimes goes in and out. 

On the new tv however when the signal is lost for a moment the tv goes to the next station and deletes his channel from the scan list! I have to keep rescanning to get the station back ! Never had this issue with any other TV

I'm ready to return the tv. 

I can see it losing the signal but why is it DELETING the channel ? 

Highlighted
Posts: 18,079
Topics: 2,978
Kudos: 652
Solutions: 489
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Nailer,

 

Welcome to our community.

 

My recommendation would be to adjust your antenna (if you haven't done so already) to ensure that the channel signal has the best chance of being received and displayed by your TV. 

 

If the problem persists, I recommend contacting Insignia Support at (877) 467-4289 for assistance with troubleshooting in real time.

 

I hope this helps. Thank you for writing to us.

John|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Have adjusted anttenna as I say it is a weak station. I just don't understand why the channel is deleted from the channel list . Have never had this happen on any other TV.  May get "no signal" or flickering picture but the option to choose the station remains. 

With this tv the only way to get the channel back is to rescan. A real pain just to watch a show.

Highlighted
Posts: 7,183
Topics: 115
Kudos: 446
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Hi, Nailer,

 

As John said, your best next step is to give Insignia Support a call at (877) 467-4289. We can do some in-the-moment troubleshooting to see if there's anything we can do to help out with this.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Did as you suggested. Support had me reset the tv (which I had done before) same result. He said maybe a software glitch suggested I get another TV. I went to the store, exchanged for the same model. Plugged it in ran the scan..... same result. As soon as the signal gets weak it eliminates the channel. Reset the new one. Same result. I guess some engineer figured this was a way to deal with weak signal stations. However all it results in is TWO returned TVs 

Guess I'll be looking for another brand with a company with smarter engineers. 

Thanks for your attempt at help.

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Upon further investigation it appears to NOT be a signal strength issue. I have one station with ZERO signal strength but still comes through with a screen full of square blocks no picture. TV does not delete it. Another station cuts in and out but comes back. ONLY ONE STATION gets deleted and as fate would have it. THAT one is my wife's favorite channel. The station has 4 channels on it's network. ONE of the four gets deleted even though all have the same broadcast tower.  I was watching signal strenth AS IT GOT DELETED. Signal said 100%  Just can't figure out what makes this station different.

 

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

The station is "Buzzr" channel 33.1 in St Louis.
Highlighted
Posts: 7,183
Topics: 115
Kudos: 446
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Hi, Nailer,

 

Thanks for the updates on this situation. That's definitely strange.

 

You can try giving our support line another call with those new details, but it sounds like you may need to pick a different model television out if they aren't able to come up with a solution.

 

Please let me know if I can help out with anything else.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-10-2019

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Figured out a solution. I found my old Insignia converter box and connected it to the TV. . Apperently a better digital tuner than comes with the TV  It picks up all the channels. When Buzzr channel fades out it says no signal then comes back. 

Funny have to use my 10 year old converter box to make my new tv work. On the tv when a signal gets weak (on any channel) the tv just freezes up. If I happen to be in setup when it happens it kicks me out and none of the controls work. Once the signal returns I can continue. Not sure if the TV has memory or a weak computer chip that is overwhelmed by the weak signal. Anyway I found a work around for now. As long as the converter box holds up. Can't buy them anymore.

 

With more people dumping cable I think Insignia should be sure to put good igital tuners in the TVs .

Thanks 

Highlighted
Posts: 7,183
Topics: 115
Kudos: 446
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: TV is deleting station from channels

Hi, Nailer,

 

Thanks very much for letting us know how you got this fixed. I'm happy to hear that you found a solution, and I appreciate your feedback about the quality of the tuner used in that television.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!