Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-06-2020

Toshiba Fire TV connection problems

Bought my 43" TV back around Thanksgiving 2019... i've been unable to get it to connect to my wireless router, because I get this TP-link screen, and it doesn't seem to be about logging in to anything I am familiar with. So I connected it to the ethernet port on my router. This, of course, means that it won't work with Alexa or remote apps from my iPhone, which is the whole reason I bought it in the first place.

 

The first question is how do I get past the TP-link screen?  What is it trying to log into? The second question is that even when it's directly connected to ethernet, the AT&T TV app constantly freezes and tries to reestablish a connection, or something.  I have three other older TVs that are connected with Roku or fire sticks, and this does not happen on any of them, so it seems directly related to the Toshiba fire stick TV. My third question is why is Best Buy carrying something that's this technically awful? Reading through the forms here, it seems to be an extremely common set of circumstances, and I would appreciate any kind of help, if any exists, and solving my problem.


This is a horrible product and I won't be buying another one again!

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-22-2018

Re: Toshiba Fire TV connection problems

 

  Why don't you just connect your TV to cable or to an antenna, bypassing the cable altogether, if you are having so much trouble with online connections? My Insignia 32" TV is connected directly to the cable, more or less (I also use a Roku device between the TV and my cable connection, with an indoor OTA antenna for use in case of trouble with the cable and to get several channels my cable doesn't) and it works flawlessly. You may be having problems with the router or with the cable modem, in which case you should contact your cable provider for further assistance. They would be the people to refer your problem to, as they would know their own equipment better than anyone else.

 

 

 


@Coloradozimm wrote:

Bought my 43" TV back around Thanksgiving 2019... i've been unable to get it to connect to my wireless router, because I get this TP-link screen, and it doesn't seem to be about logging in to anything I am familiar with. So I connected it to the ethernet port on my router. This, of course, means that it won't work with Alexa or remote apps from my iPhone, which is the whole reason I bought it in the first place.

 

The first question is how do I get past the TP-link screen?  What is it trying to log into? The second question is that even when it's directly connected to ethernet, the AT&T TV app constantly freezes and tries to reestablish a connection, or something.  I have three other older TVs that are connected with Roku or fire sticks, and this does not happen on any of them, so it seems directly related to the Toshiba fire stick TV. My third question is why is Best Buy carrying something that's this technically awful? Reading through the forms here, it seems to be an extremely common set of circumstances, and I would appreciate any kind of help, if any exists, and solving my problem.


This is a horrible product and I won't be buying another one again!


 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-06-2020

Re: Toshiba Fire TV connection problems

Like I said, I have three other TVs with wireless connections. This one has one, too, and I AM connected via Ethernet.  However, to use it on the IoT, like with Alexa and some remotes, you need to be on the same network.  It doesn't view Ethernet as the same net...I bought it for its Alexa integration, but that doesn't work.

Posts: 632
Topics: 27
Kudos: 112
Solutions: 29
Registered: ‎02-08-2019

Re: Toshiba Fire TV connection problems

Hey there, Coloradozimm,

Thank you for joining us here on the Best Buy Forums! I hope you've had the chance to explore our site, as there is some pretty great information around here. I'm sad to hear about the issues you've been having with your TV. I'd be more than happy to assist however possible!

With the screen to the TP Link sign in, it sounds like it may be trying to connect to your router, assuming you have a TP. Have you had the chance to input your router sign in using your router information while on that screen? With that said, your internet speed can also play a factor in connectivity issues, as it sounds as though this is also happening when connected directly through ethernet. When you get the chance, can you please try a speed test on your internet? You can use this one here created by Geek Squad. 

 

Let me know if these work out for you!

Best Regards,

Alyssa|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!