Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2022
Accepted Solution

No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

I just got a new LG C2 65" OLED, and an LG S65 soundbar. I have all new HDMI cables. I connected my Spectrum cable box to HDMI IN on the soundbar, and HDMI out to the HDMI/ARC on the TV. Whenever I power up, the soundbar automatically switches to ARC, and the TV says there's no input- check connections or turn source on. Cycling the cable box off and back on does nothing. Changing the tv source to another input and then back to the cable box does nothing. Changing any and all settings in the TV does nothing. The ONLY thing that works is to cycle through several inputs on the SOUNDBAR, stopping on HDMI. Then, and only then, will the cable box feed picture and sound through the soundbar to the TV. My old Samsung plasma and Samsung soundbar auromatically connected and worked perfectly with the same configuration. I thought the LG soundbar would surely do the same with an LG TV, but several clicks with a second remote control are required to make it work. Any suggestions? Similar problems? Not sure why the video & audio signal is not automatically passing through the soundbar, and extra steps are needed on EVERY use. It also loses the connection if another input source is selected, then return to the HDMI2/ARC input. The TV calls HDMI 2 "LG soundbar," by the way.

Social Media Specialist
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-29-2021

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

Hello, Mr. News,

 

I can understand that getting your new TV and sound bar to work can be difficult. I would be glad to help you today.

 

Please attempt to connect the Cable box directly to the TV and continue to have the sound bar connected to the Televisions EARC HDMI and let me know if this works for you as this was how I had done it when I had an LG television and sound bar previously and it worked. Please Private Message your full name, email and phone number with any other questions or concerns that we may help you with today.

 

Sincerely,

Thomas|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2022

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

Thanks, that was my next attempt at a fix/workaround. However using the HDMI2/ARC port in the TV just to feed the soundbar results in the loss of one HDMI port. Cable box to #1 and ARC out to soundbar leaves only two HDMI ports open. I have at least three devices I'd like to connect...

Very irritating that the soundbar seems incapable of passing an HDMI signal through, as it's designed and built to do. However, I was having the same issue with the LG TV and the Samsung soundbar, so I think this is a LG TV problem. Or something funky about the Spectrum cable box HDMI output (checked all the settings there too). I will try your suggestion and report back. Thanks for the prompt reply!

Social Media Specialist
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-29-2021

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

[ Edited ]

No problem. I can understand that having an HDMI lost may be difficult. and you may be able to connect a unit and set the sound bar to the HDMI option if it is available in the sound bar.

 

Sincerely,

Thomas|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Posts: 11,597
Topics: 1,944
Kudos: 1,019
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 362
Registered: ‎11-10-2008

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

On my Xfinity cable box, there is the ability to connect bluetooth devices to the cable box such as wireless headphones and so forth. Even soundbars. I find this audio setup easier versus all the cables you had traditionally needed to connect everything. 

Best Buy Forums Super User since 2008. Please note I am not employed by Best Buy and I answer questions on my own time. If you find something helpful please add kudos to it. Should something solve your issue please remember to mark inquiries as solved.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2022

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

Unfortunately, my Spectrum box has no such capability. It's frustrating, because my Samsung soundbar connected perfectly with my Samsung TV: you turned on the TV & cable box, the Soundbar came on automatically, connected to ARC, and sound came out. I bought an LG Soundbar to go with a new LG TV, turn everything on, the Soundbar switches to ARC, and the TV says the cable box is not turned on (it is). So I have to get the soundbar remote and scroll through the inputs until I reach HDMI, and then the cable box signal gets passed through. Every. Single. Time. The extra steps should not be necessary...
Social Media Specialist
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-29-2021

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

I can understand that having questions on a new Television can be difficult, MrNews. You can see the manufacturers website regarding the TV. if you would like assistance or have questions on the sound bar please provide more information to find the best information for your new devices today. I will attach LG's online chat if you would like to reach out to them with more questions or concerns.

 

 

LG online chat

 

Sincerely,

Thomas|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2022

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

Just chatted with LG- absolutely useless, and they did not even address the specifics of this issue. Just reset the whole system (lose everything). Clearly, these components are not working in sync. Sorry state for >$2000 worth of technology.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-28-2022

Re: No cable box pass-through LG soundbar to KG TV

Although cable box to HDMI IN & HDMI OUT to ARC worked perfectly on Samsung matched equipment, the same cable box failed to deliver to the LG C2 with both the Samsung soundbar AND the LG soundbar. Although both bars switched to ARC, the signal would not reach the TV until the soundbar source was manually changed to HDMI, extra steps requiring two remotes.

 

Today, I found a solution. I've connected the cable box directly to HDMI 1 on the TV. My blu-ray player is connected to HDMI IN on the soundbar, and HDMI OUT remains connected to HDMI 2/ARC on the TV. Roku to HDMI 3, DVD-R to HDMI 4. Since the only variable was the LG C2 television, there is apparently a handshake or HDCP issue with connecting a cable box to a soundbar pass-through on to the ARC port on the C2, which requires a manual re-setting to HDMI, not ARC. In any case, everything boots up & connects properly now. And my Terminator 2 Special Edition blu-ray looks and sounds INCREDIBLE on the 65" LG C2 and LG S65Q soundbar.