Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-15-2022

Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

Hi, I just my replaced an old analog box set with a small flat screen, insignia NS-24D310NA21.
It’s attached to my U-verse cable box and no matter which Aspect Ratio I use, it crops off the sides & top/bottom of the actual picture? There isn’t much of a manual, just a setup sheet. How can I make it so the picture stops getting cropped off?
Posts: 128
Topics: 1
Kudos: 11
Solutions: 10
Registered: ‎11-08-2021

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

Hey there, Dexiner.

 

Thanks for reaching out to us here on the Best Buy Forums. I would be happy to assist with this. How is your cable box hooked up to your TV?

Connor|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-15-2022

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

Via coaxial from the box to the tv.
I did try attaching it via hdmi but after noticing the issue/doing the setup.
When I did, the screen changed saying it was not compatible.🤷🏼‍♂️
Posts: 128
Topics: 1
Kudos: 11
Solutions: 10
Registered: ‎11-08-2021

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

How old is the cable box?

Connor|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-15-2022

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

The mfg date is 01/09 but it is an HD box.
Posts: 128
Topics: 1
Kudos: 11
Solutions: 10
Registered: ‎11-08-2021

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

It may be an HD box, but it does not support HDCP 2.2. What that is, is a copy protection to make sure people can't pirate TV shows and movies. TVs are all made with it now, but HD equipment made a while ago do not support it. That is why the TV won't accept the signal coming via HDMI. I would recommend contacting AT&T and getting a new U-Verse box that is updated, and that should solve any issues you have.

Connor|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-15-2022

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

I’ll likely end up having to do that,(this may be a little long from here, sorry) I just hate contacting ATT Re cable cuz every time I do so some nonsense comes up and my bill ends up increasing. So I’m just trying all other options possible before doing so.<br>We do have 3 other tv’s in the house. All the cable boxes are the same age &amp; are hooked to the tv’s via HDMI.<br>The newest other tv is a TCL(Smart tv) which we got just a few months back.. old box, no problem.<br>2nd newest tv is a 4yr old Insignia(Smart TV). Old box, no problem.<br>The last one is an 11yr old Samsung(not a Smart TV) but like the others the box is old and no problems. <br>I added a Roku Express device to the Samsung a few days ago and that works fine.<br><br>Since this smaller kitchen Insignia one is not a smart tv we put a Roku Express device on it as well and that works 100%.<br><br>When doing the initial setup on this new Insignia today it gave 3 options. 1 was a Satellite dish w box. 2 was a tv antenna, &amp; 3 was “cable line from the wall” which is the one I chose. Cuz it is a box but not satellite. It’s a cable line from the wall to the box and then the box to the tv.<br>Could it be possible I need to do the setup again and start with the hdmi as opposed to the coaxial?<br>I ran the existing coaxial from the box that was going to the old box tv and honestly didn’t even notice the hdmi port on the back of the box. I saw the coaxial port on the tv and figured it to be what was needed.<br><br>So sorry if this is confusing as heck.<br><br>
Posts: 128
Topics: 1
Kudos: 11
Solutions: 10
Registered: ‎11-08-2021

Re: Aspect Ratio/image always cropped off

No, I understand. You may have to adjust the picture/aspect ratio settings on the cable box itself, depending on what kind of TV you had their prior, if it was not a flat screen with the 16:9 aspect ratio. If it was a square TV with a 4:3 aspect ratio, that could be why it is messed up on your current TV, and if you haven't, look in the settings on the cable box and see if you can find any mention of the aspect ratio or resolution and that could also solve the issue.

Connor|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!