Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2020

No sound NS-SB314

  Saw this post from a few years ago, it applies to me.  I purchased my sound bar four years ago, then just a week ago I unplugged it to move some stuff around, then when I plugged it back in the sound stopped working it.  Strange to just stop emmitting audio- all the lights works on the bar, just no sound.  Any ideas?

 

 

No sound NS-SB314
My sound bar (NS-SB314) was working fine with Bluetooth and my tv then one day it just stopped working for anything. The lights are on it's not muted I've tried different cords and devices and tried the troubleshooting in the manuel... Still no sound.
 
Saw this post from a few years ago, it applies to me.  I purchased my sound bar four years ago, then just a week ago I unplugged it to move some stuff around, then when I plugged it back in the sound stopped working it. 
 
 
 
Posts: 7,191
Topics: 116
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 394
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Hi, mtsolty,

 

Welcome to our community. A sound bar without sound really isn't very helpful. I'd like to see if we can troubleshoot this at all.

 

The first question is how the television is hooked up to the sound bar. What kind of cable are you using? Or, is this connected wirelessly by Bluetooth?

 

In addition,w hat model television are you connecting to this sound bar?

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2020

Re: No sound NS-SB314

KyleR,

 

Thank you for the reply!  I had it hooked up with an optical cable- the same way it was always hooked up.  I was currently using it with an LG Tv, but perviously had used it with a Sony.  I tried to hook it up to the Sony TV as well, but no luck there either.  I tried the optical cable, I also tried the red and white cables, I even tried the aux cable- pretty much tried everything.

 

As for the blutooth- I was able to get my phone to pair with the sound bar, but still no sound. 

 

I've had the sound bar for four years, so I am sure it is out of warranty- my bummer is that all I did was unplug it and then plug it back in a little later and suddenly the sound stopped working.

Posts: 7,191
Topics: 116
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 394
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Hi, mtsolty,

 

If it isn't making any sound no matter how it is connected, there's a good chance it needs to be replaced.

 

First you can try unplugging it from power for a minute, to see if that helps. Also, be sure to hit the mute button to see if it is muted. You can also hit the source button to verify you are using the right input, but it sounds like you've already tried that.

 

If that doesn't work, call Insignia Support at (877) 467-4289 to see if there are any other options.

 

Please let me know if I can help out with anything else.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2020

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Thank you for the reply.  Can't seem to find any mute button on the soundbar nor the 3 button remote control.  Will give insignia a call- thank you for the number.

Posts: 7,191
Topics: 116
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 394
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Hi, mtsolty,

 

You're very welcome. 

 

Upon review, the mute button should be on the remote, but the remote in the manual has more than three buttons. 

 

You may be able to get a universal remote connected tot he sound bar to attempt an un-mute. Hopefully the folks at that number can help you out.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2020

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Kyle,

 

Thanks for the additional info- found the actual remote- the remote works- the sound bar lights adjust when using it, but still no volume.  Called the number you gave, all they did was confirm that it doesn't work.  They suggested I go to their website and buy a new one.

 

Bummer that this died like this.  I know it's a budget model and I would be OK about it all had I dropped it or something, but not the way I care for products.  Really sad to see this happen.  I actually just got rid of the original box a few months ago!  Guess I will be without a soundbar for a while. 

 

Thanks again for your insight.

Posts: 7,191
Topics: 116
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 394
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: No sound NS-SB314

[ Edited ]

Hi, mtsolty,

 

You're welcome. I'm sorry we weren't able to find a solution.

 

If you'd like, we can check this out hands-on at Geek Squad. You can sign up for a free consultation here. There's a chance we can figure something out if we get hands on with it, and if we can't our stores offer free electronics recycling to take it off your hands.

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-01-2020

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Kyle,

 

Just wanted to put one last post out there and say Thank you.  I took it into the Geek squad.  They weren't able to fix it, but took time to try and were very nice about it all.  I also ended up finding an open box replacement sound bar- they helped me find that too.

 

Thanks for all the help!

Posts: 7,191
Topics: 116
Kudos: 93
Solutions: 394
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: No sound NS-SB314

Hi, mtsolty,

 

You are very welcome. I hope you love that new sound bar!

 

Sincerely, 

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!