Add Product

Search Results:

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2020

Ohhh the Horror! Terrible experience

[ Edited ]

I am trying to be a Best Buy customer so hard! I really am, but it is so difficult.... Let me share my story with you up to this point, as I have nearly had enough and ready to just go and get a refund.


We recently bought a new car and landed on the 2017 Hyundai Tucson and the only downfall was, we did not car for the stereo and sought to replace it at Best BUy and so we did some research on your website. It was not clear and so i chatted with a team meber on your website to assist. He gathered the car make and model and assisted in getting everything that I needed for the install into my shopping cart.Now I was rather reserved and questioned him at a minimum of 4 times to confirm that we where not going to loose any of our current functionalities (Steering wheel, backup camera, XM etc). He assured me that this was everything needed to do the install. 


Still with that said, i had some reservations and after getting hte car went to the store to buy and again confirm that we would not loose any funtionality. Once again the Team member assured me we had everything needed. So we bought the stereo on October 20th and then set the install for today October 28th. All good so far....


Yesterday I got a call from the Matt the one doing the install and he asked if we where not wanting the backup camera? Of course I do! He then informed me that we where missing a part needed. I shared with Matt how I had confirmed with two people multiple times and they assured me that the camera would work. He went to talk to a manager and called me back letting me know they would get it and not to worry. Ok, Great!!! See ya tomorrow morning then,


I arrived at 10:00 am for the install, Matt was there and he informed he wqould pull the car in, steralize and get some paper work done. Perfect! He pulls the car in and sanitizs it and then pops out and says, I see you have Sirus XM! You dont want that any longer? Of course I do was my reply! "You didnt purchase the part needed though" He replies. So now my patience has run out and I got rather ticked off and said a few choice words and asked for a manager to assist us.


Manager came back and wanted some time to look at it.She came back and said it would be $50 more for the part and that it will now take mnore time 4 hours and they can no longewr do my install today (NOw Matt told me last night it was going to take much longer and made sure I was OK with it, he said about 3.5 to 4 hours) So if last night it was 3.5 to 4 and now it is 4, why do we not have the time to do it? (NOW I am boiling mad) I took the time out of my day to bring the car in and now they wont do? She then proceeds to say they dont have the part. But I noticed a store in OShkosh did! Great, start the install I will run to Oshkosh and get the part and bring back for you so we can get it done.


Nope! Not gonna do it. I called Best Buy 1-800 number to try and get assistance, he advised me to find someone else a higher up manager. I did and landed on the Major Appliance supervisor, Jeffry {removed per forum guidelines}. So we solved the part issue because I was going to run and get it! Then I was told the installer was not comfirtable with the part and we had to have another installer do it! Now it is just laughable only at this point. Ultimatley, they rescheduled for the next slot with 4 hours open, doing nothing to escalate faster. I offered to take to antoher store! Nope.


I had to just leave! Jeffry offered to look at compensation for me and I just didnt want to deal with at the moment. I also asked to speak to the stores general manager and was told he may call me or he may not??? Are you serious?


I tried calling in to your support number to get help and that is just as big of a joke! wasted an hour and got ran in circles.


We where going to pick the car up tonight and buy a new TV at the same time. But at this point the service has been so terrible that my confidence in Best Buy is shot! First of all, my concern about the install is will it be done right? Nobody seems to know what is needed at all. Second, I just dont seem to feel as though anyone gives a darn! 


We will see where this lands and if anyone does care. 

Posts: 1,592
Topics: 77
Kudos: 261
Solutions: 73
Registered: ‎11-23-2018

Re: Ohhh the Horror! Terrible experience

Hi, RandyGroff, and welcome to our online community!


Thank you for posting on our forum. It saddens me to hear about the experience you had with your car stereo, since I know how exciting it is to get a new vehicle and personalize it just the way you'd like. After spending time on chat and in-store confirming that you had everything you needed to make this installation happen, I definitely understand your frustrations and disappointment with the service you received on Wednesday. This is far from the kind of experience we want for our customers.


That said, I'd like the chance to formally document your feedback and offer any additional assistance you may need now. To start, please send me a private message including your full name, email, and phone number. You can find the blue option to message me to the right of my name below.



Allison|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!