Add Product

Search Results:

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-18-2021

Impossible to contact store for support

I recently had a rear back up camera installed on my sons car.  The backup camera was installed and attached to an apple play stereo that Best Buy had also installed a few months back.   

Here is my issue.   In my area- the closest Best Buy (South Portland, ME) where we make all our purchases has not had an installer for over a year.  We have to drive an hour and fifteen minutes North or South to get to a Best Buy that does installs.  I accept this as I understand that the last year has been challenging to hire help. Howver, the camera was installed incorrectly (due to a employee at the Portsmouth, NH location who rushed through the install because he had issues with a car prior to ours.  We were the last appointment of the day and he did not fully test the camera before he pushed us out and shut down the install area).   Who's brilliant idea was it to stop having the stores accept calls?  Calls made to the stores result in a message saying the stores are not accepting phone calls and we are rerouted to a national call center.  The national call center cannot even contact the stores.  All I wanted to do was schedule a follow up appointment to figure out why the camera wasn't working correctly.  The national call center said- just show up at the store.  Um, not going to drive 75 minutes one way to find that they are too busy to check on my vehicle.   So my only next option is to drive to the local store and ask them to contact the "other" store that is doing installs.  Even that store representative could not call the store.  He had to schedule an appointment for me- by pretending I purchased a new backup camera, scheduling an install appointment and then immediately refunding it.  It is ridiculous to me that one cannot speak to any store representatives for resolution or support.  And what the heck good is this lifetime warranty if there is no possible way to schedule service appointments without pretending to buy an item?  

Absolutely the worst policy implemented- during a time when there are limits to the number of people who are allowed in stores, you implement a policy that forces people into the stores to get any sort of resolution.      


Having said that, two employees at the South Portland,Maine Best Buy provided OUTSTANDING service in helping me get to a resolution for an issue they had nothing to do with.  Shawn H and Pat M went above and beyond to help me resolve my issue in a more than satisfactory way.  


But I continue to question the policy that does not allow any interaction with store employees and a national call center that is clearly NOT equipped to answer customer inquiries at all. 

Posts: 5,920
Topics: 201
Kudos: 489
Solutions: 294
Registered: ‎08-21-2017

Re: Impossible to contact store for support

Good afternoon, pammer1019,


Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here on our community forums and letting us know about your recent experience with this installation and attempts in getting assistance with this second appointment. I know getting anything added to your vehicle is a big deal and I know I would want to make sure everything was perfect after my appointment. I would be happy to make sure your feedback gets to the right place as well as provide some details on how to get assistance in the future.


As you mentioned, your local store location may not accept phone calls in order to provide the best service in-store. All of our store locations can be contacted via an email address which you can find using our store locator tool.


Did you have a chance to speak to a store manager at our Best Buy Portsmouth location to let them know about your experience with this installation? If not, I would be glad to reach out to them on your behalf.


I'd also like to review how this second appointment was scheduled as you should not be charged to take advantage of the lifetime workmanship guarantee for car electronic installations and make sure the management team at our Best Buy Portland store is processing this correctly in the future.


Finally, I'd like to document this here at our Corporate Campus so we can continue to improve our customer service in the future. I will need to gather a bit more information in order to do so. Can you please send me a private message that includes your 

Full name
Email address

Phone number


You can send me a private message by clicking on the blue button at the bottom of this post across from my name. I'll keep an eye out for your response.

AndrewB|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!