Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2019

Home Damage - Unsatisfactory Resolution

I purchased a Samsung 65” Q9 (expensive TV) and had it installed by Geek Squad two days after Christmas. The installers drilled 2 holes through a 3” sewer drain pipe in my living room wall (upstairs bathrooms drain). They didn’t seem to notice their drill bit was full of PVC pipe. Rather than stop and fix issue, they simply put anchors into the holes and mounted the TV. After 4 showers and multiple uses of the toilets, water, human waste was pouring out of my living room wall. The drywall, carpet, pad, baseboard, basement insulation were all contaminated and beyond repair. After a month of clean up, new carpet, wall repairs, paint, etc, all bills have been submitted to Sedgwick. Waiting for payment.

Due to the multiple days of leaving work to allow contractors entry, trips to pick out and order carpet and paint, etc., loss of the use of our main room (torn up) during the holidays we assumed Best Buy/Geek Squad would make it right with us. After all, we had just bought a $3000 TV. The TV had gotten wet as urine and feces were spewing out of my wall. Sedgwick recommended we return the TV which we did.

I inquired with Sedgwick how to submit claim for punitive damages. They said to contact customer care.

After taking to the sales manager, store manager, Geek Squad district field manager, and a resolution specialist at the Corp office in MN, the offer is $200 off the current price of a new TV. $200 does not even come close to the lost time from work, loss of use of a large portion of our home over the holidays, etc. This experience has been so horrible. Looking for suggestions on next steps.
Posts: 296
Topics: 13
Kudos: 78
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎11-23-2018

Re: Home Damage - Unsatisfactory Resolution

Hello, kevin6895, and welcome to our online community!

 

Thank you for reaching out for additional support on our Forums. I noticed you also got in touch with our specialist Ken over Facebook the day following this post here. From what I can tell from updated case notes, you have been in touch with our Executive Support Team regarding what can be done moving forward in your case. I encourage you to contact them as soon as you are back in town.

 

That being said, if you have any other questions or concerns please don't hesitate to reach back out to us. I can only imagine the stress and inconvenience this ordeal has caused (not to mention the mess), and I'm hoping a resolution that works for you can be reached sooner rather than later.

 

Sincerely,

Allison|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!