Add Product

Search Results:

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-26-2020

Geek Squad auto stereo install problems

[ Edited ]

I've had 4 car stereos installed by Geek Squad in the last 5 years (I change vehicles often).  All have gone well except the most recent one from Feb. 2020 Best Buy order # {removed per forum guidelines}.  The installer was very inexperienced and not trained well.  I ended up taking the vehicle to another Geek Squad location to get the dash put back together because the first  installer couldn't complete the dash re-install.  It was not re-installed as well as it started out before the installation.  I contacted Best Buy about this and a couple of other issues with the install and your "live chat" person suggested I have the install re-inspected.  Made the appointment for yesterday.  The appointment confirmation number was {removed per forum guidelines}


I arrived at 4:50 for the 5 to 6pm appointment, told the installer what I was there for and he told me he remembered the vehicle and there was nothing else that could be done. I  asked him to look at it anyway since I had driven 45 minutes to get to the appointment.  Also  asked him about the problems I was having with bluetooth.  He told me that was a problem with settings.  No offer to help me with that.  I asked him to please show me where the problem was so I could fix it.  He left it with the other technician.  At 5:40 they still hadn't moved my vehicle into the service bay to check my problem.  I was watching through the window and finally at 5:50 the tech went out to the parking lot to get my vehicle.  He came back into the shop without moving my vehicle and motioned for me to come to the door He told me he remembered the vehicle and couldn't do anything about it.  He was not going to take it apart or re-check the install.  It was now 5:55 so I asked for my keys and left. My vehicle never entered the service bay.


The 4 previous installs had all gone well, the work was done quickly and professionally, unlike this experience.  If had been willing to accept a less than professional install with excuses and a surly attitude, I would have done the install myself and bought the gear from Crutchfield.  You have wasted my time and my fuel to go to an appointment that was supposed to remedy the problem, but that appointment and effort changed nothing.  Your service tech was smart enough to cancell my appointment in your system so I wouldn't get an email asking me to evaluate this appointment.  I am extremely disappointed with this whole transaction.



Posts: 1,041
Topics: 56
Kudos: 236
Solutions: 63
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Geek Squad auto stereo install problems

Welcome, KC56,

Thanks for joining the Best Buy Forums.

My car is my baby. I would never want anything bad to happen to it, and I think it's reasonable to expect it to be returned to you in great condition. I'm sorry that you've had a difficult time with your installation and follow-up services. We would like to make sure that your feedback is received by the appropriate people at the stores. Please send me a Private Message with your full name, email address, phone number, and the store locations that you have been visiting for your appointments. It would also be helpful if you can share any experiences that you had when bringing up your concerns to the management at the stores. You can find a link to send a Private Message in my signature.


Fey|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!