Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-30-2019

Botched Bosch delivery

Since my effort to resolve this via a phone call ended with a transfer that couod not be completed, I'll post here.

 

Ordered a new Bosch dishwasher online with scheduled installation on 1/24. Free installation but had to puchase install kit for $29.99 +tax.

 

Came home from work on 1/24 to find the dishwasher sitting in the middle of my kitchen with a half-empty and damp installion box sitting inside it.  Wife said they didn't have a 1/2" to 3/8' adapter for the water supply line so they couldn't complete the install and I'm left to intall it myself.  Fine - but I look around for the 6' supply line that is supposed to be in the kit and it's nowhere to be found.  I would've used the old line from our dishwasher (which had the 1/2" to 3/8" adapter attached to it, btw) but they also took the old dishwasher with them when they left so I have to run out and buy a new installtion kit (for $12.99, btw) at another retailer.

 

Long story short, 3 hours later I have the new dhishwasher isntalled and running perfectly but noted that there was another missing item from my purchase - the Hose Clip (a bracket for making sure the waste line is kept high in the cabinet) that is supposed to be attached the the rear of the dishwasher when you receive it (per the manual) was nowhere to be found.  I ended up improvising a clip temprorarily until I figure out where to get it from (a message to Bosch has gone unaswered now almost a week).

 

Now, to my point - I called Best Buy on 1/25 to complain about the whole debacle of delivery/intallation and for charging me for the install kit and not delivering everything that is supposed to be in it.  Explained my issue and was transferred to another person.  Explained my issue again and was transferred to another person, again.  Explained my issue a 3rd time and the person was very apologetic about the whole thing and said she was refund me the price for the installatoin kit as well as send me a Best Buy gift card for my trouble.  That all sounded like a reasonable and adequate solution to the problem for me so I was happy.  She said she would follow up with me on 1/29 to make sur everything went smoothly.  That sounded even better, so I was even a little more happy.

 

January 29th comes and goes without any news from Best Buy.  I note this morning that I still didn't receive a call so I check our bank account to see if the refund came through.  There's nothing.  So, I call Best Buy at 2pm to see if I can track down what happened to my case.  I talk to someone and explain my issue and they transfer me.  I talk to second person (this time it was Geek Squad support - maybe because I purchased 5 years of GS on this dishwasher?) and explain my issue AGAIN (sounding familiar yet?) and after some back & forth, she transfers me to a 3rd person and I wait on hold for a few minutes before I get a message that the call could be completed and that I should "call the 800 number again".  Which 800 number?  Your guess is as good as mine.  Maybe I;m supposed to go through the whole process a third time?  Talk to someone, get trasnsferred, talk to someone, get transferred, et al.

 

So, I'm here hoping somebody from Best Buy customer service can explain to me how a long-time customer who has purchased every major appliance from Best Buy for the last 10 years has to go through this at the beginning of his next round of major appliance purchases?  I'm getting ready to replace everything again and this dishwasher was the first after our recent kitchen renno - now I'm wondering if I should be shopping elsehwere...

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-30-2019

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

I received a notice in my email on 1/30 that the "Dishwasher Installation" was cancelled as part of my order and that I would be issued a refund. At first, I thought it was the expected refund on the installation KIT that was missing parts and almost laughed out loud when I saw it was only for the installation itself. Um, the installation was "free" so I guess I say thanks for a refund on free?

I'm disappointed there was no reference in that email to the incomplete installation kit being canceled/refunded or any BB gift card I was told I would receive.

I followed up with a call to Best Buy on 2/1 and after jumping through telephone hoops again, I reached the same department and spoke with someone there. He said the person I had originally spoken to (“Olga”) had just left for the day but that he would leave a note for her to call me the next day. I did not receive a call the next day.

Yesterday (2/4), I received a package from Best Buy via UPS and for the briefest of moments actually thought all my increasingly bad thoughts about Best Buy and this experience were baseless. It was a small envelope - perhaps this was the gift card they said I’d receive? Nope. It was some random hose clamps that I didn’t need. No clue why they were sent to me. Maybe some customer service person took it upon themselves to send me parts they thought I needed (yay initiative!) but in no conversations with anyone did they mention sending me the actual missing parts from either the install kit I purchased or the missing part from the dishwasher itself (which was the Bosch Hose CLIP, not hose CLAMP). I don’t want or need the parts from install kit as I was already forced to purchase those - I need a REFUND for the installation kit from BB and the compensation I was told I’d receive… and I need to know why someone said they’d fix all this for me but all communications from Best Buy indicate there wasn’t any follow through on the stated resolution.

So I call AGAIN today (2/5) to follow up AGAIN on this whole problem and get transferred around AGAIN to someone who has no idea who Olga is but it doesn’t really matter in the end as the call suddenly drops before we even get very far into the details of my issue. Yes, after getting transferred around several times and then waiting on hold for waaaay too long, my umpteenth call to Best Buy over 2 weeks trying to remedy an issue with my $1100 purchase just… just ends in the middle of the person talking. Perfect.

Let me say this: the longer Best Buy Customer Service takes to address complaints and concerns in this forum, the longer you give someone like myself time to browse all the complaints about Best Buy here and elsewhere. Frankly, it's really sad. I am a former Elite Plus member of SEVERAL years and despite preferring to go to an actual brick & mortar store, I found the declining customer service to be the largest contributor to me shifting my purchases elsewhere over the years to the point of only occasionally buying things each year from Best Buy. This recent relatively large purchase was my attempt to see if anything had changed and I've come to realize that gambling with my own retail loyalty was a huge mistake. My experience seems to suggest that things have only gotten worse with Best Buy addressing problems customers are facing. I was really hoping I’d be proven wrong.

When purchases go great, everyone is happy... but when there is a problem that is not the customer's fault in any way, Best Buy should be making sure that the problem is resolved quickly and with reasonable satisfaction. Sure, "reasonable satisfaction" is subjective and different people are going to have different opinions on what that is - but I'm pretty sure everyone can agree that making false promises (i.e., not following through on statements made), not reaching out to a customer following a poor experience, and doing nothing to actually remedy a poor customer experience definitely does not qualify.

Thought things were resolved on my first call and now it's painfully obvious that whoever I spoke to on that call was probably not being honest. I was never rude and remained calm in all my phone calls with customer service. And as frustrating as it was to be transferred repeatedly, I felt I was otherwise treated with respect and empathy by each agent. But since I actually received no refund for the incomplete kit I purchased and no other physical or electronic communication outlining a resolution to my issue, compounded with repeated problems getting someone on the phone at Best Buy who could actually check on my case after multiple attempts… I have to believe that none of it was actually sincere.

After reading scores of reports by other customers with similar and frequently even worse experiences, and now with options appearing to be exhausted because of no response to my message here after 7 days, I guess I just have to wash my hands of the whole thing and say lesson learned: Don't shop with Best Buy.

I don't see how Best Buy can see this practice as sustainable in this day & age. In the grand scheme of things it can cost so much less to retain a customer than it does to get a new one to walk through your doors or commit to a purchase online. Because of the initial call I had with your customer service, we spent another $500 only days later as I was convinced and encouraged that Best Buy actually cared about keeping my business. That I could shop confidently because if there was a problem, they’d be there to help out and do so quickly. THAT'S what matters these days to shoppers like myself. I don't care if I save a little over another retailer, I want to be sure I don't feel like an idiot for putting trust in a brand. Shame on me for not waiting to see if Best Buy would actually follow through. Now I feel like an idiot twice in the span of 2 weeks…

A customer shouldn’t have to put this must effort into getting a resolution to a problem. I once had a poor experience with Discount Tire while on a trip to Denver, CO. I had to get a whole new set of tires for my truck and in the follow up customer experience survey I mentioned my disappointment. The very next morning the manager of that store called me up to discuss the problem, told me the steps they were going to take to make sure that the experience wouldn’t be repeated and then without any prompting on my end, completely refunded my $900 purchase. I was stunned. This wasn’t even the store I went to regularly - it was 1500 miles away! Not only did he earn his company a customer for life right there, but 4 years later I’m still telling that story. THAT’S customer service. Kudos to that company for empowering him to remedy an issue well above and beyond a customer’s expectation. Wish the same could be said here.
Posts: 276
Topics: 18
Kudos: 69
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

Hello,

 

Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We know a lot of thought goes in to selecting the perfect dishwasher for your home so we greatly appreciate that you came to us for this purchase. That said, the experience you described has not been a reflection of that, for which I apologize.

 

While it can take up to 15 days for a gift card to arrive in the mail, and one billing cycle for a refund to go back to your account, I can certainly understand your concern at not seeing anything. That's something we'd want to explain at the time of the offer to ensure you have an idea of what things should show up.

 

I'm so glad you brought this to our attention to give us the opportunity to turn your experience around. 

 

Can you please send a private message including

 

Full Name

 

Phone Number

 

Email Address

 

Order Number

 

You can send a private message by selecting the message option in my signature below. I look forward to hearing from you with this info so this can be looked in to further.

 

 

Elle|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-30-2019

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

Jessica -

 

We've exchanged 3 messages so far (1 from me, 2 from you) but I tried 3 times to send a reply back to you and each time receive this error in my browser after pressing send:

 

Authentication Ticket Mismatched, failed authentication.

 

There's no copy of my reply in the 'Sent' box and this has happened on 2 different devices so far.

Posts: 276
Topics: 18
Kudos: 69
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

Hello Shawn,

 

Thanks for sharing that with me, as I was curious as to why I hadn't heard from you. Before you reply to my Private Message, can you clear your browser cache? That should fix the error and allow your future messages to go through. Let me know if that doesn't work!

 

 

 

 

Elle|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-30-2019

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

Jessica -

 

At this point, this process is a continuing losing scenario for me in terms of time and inconvenience.  I’m done trying to jump through hoops like a circus dog to get a satisfactory resolution.

 

Although I appreciate that there was finally some headway towards addressing my case, I have to say I'm more than just a little disappointed that the final resolution is less than what I was originally told it would be.  

 

The person I spoke with in my first call to Best Buy support said I'd be refunded the cost of the installation kit AND sent a $100 gift card for my inconvenience.  Now, 2 weeks later, after repeated calls to the support line and reaching out for help on the forum (because I never received the promised follow-up from that agent, couldn't even reach her again, and also saw no written confirmation of what was told to me on the phone), I’m discovering the gift card will be far less than what was stated?  It seems like all the headaches and hassles on my end, on top of an already very poor customer experience, just don't seem to be a concern for your company.  

 

I saw that the refund notice for the install kit came through in my email right after our private communication - this is part of what I expected to see right away after speaking with Olga from Best Buy 2 weeks ago.  Why I didn't see anything like that after she said she would take care of it is both perplexing and frustrating.  Since I've been receiving random dishwasher parts from Best Buy that I don't require and didn't request  (2 packages this week now) perhaps she got my case mixed up with someone else's.  Maybe another upset customer received my $100 gift card this week and I got their $3 parts... regardless, yet another level of chaos in this process.

 

Honestly, if a $40 card is ultimately what Best Buy thinks my time, disappointment & frustration is worth - despite originally telling me something different - than I guess I really am done with Best Buy.  Thanks for the effort, but no thanks.  

 

This was an incredibly dissapointing experience (though admittedly not as bad as some truly awful ones I read through online).  I thought I was coming home to a shiny, new, expensive dishwasher INSTALLED in my kitchen and was met with a project dumped in my lap with not even all the parts there needed to finish the job.  It was a veritable bait & switch where Best Buy dangled free installation and got me to make a purchase but then pulled the rug out at the last minute leaving me to clean up the mess.  3+ hours of banging around under my cabinets, running out to the hardware store to re-purchase parts that should have already been there followed by additional HOURS spent making phone calls, sitting on hold and generally being angry about the whole customer experience I just paid an $1160+ premium for is not even close to being covered by a $40 gift card.   

 

Best of luck to you & your team, but this ranks as the absolute worst customer support I’ve ever had the displeasure of going through.  As far as I'm concerned, Best Buy can keep that $40 and maybe invest it in a better program to address poor customer experiences.

 

Shawn

Posts: 276
Topics: 18
Kudos: 69
Solutions: 15
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: Botched Bosch delivery

Hello Shawn,

 

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with this feedback. I'm sorry to hear of this decision as that certainly was not how we wanted to make you feel. Since I was unable to locate any notes on our end regarding a mention of a gift card offered, I was unsure of what you had been quoted previously.

 

If you provided a different phone number or email address over the phone then what you sent me over Private Message (PM) , please send me another PM with those alternate details so I can continue looking for those notes.

 

That said, my previous offer has been documented so you can reach out to us if you change your mind and would like to accept.

Elle|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!