Add Product

Search Results:

Highlighted

Online college student; understanding the best and most cost effective computer for my needs

Hello, I need a new computer. I'm beginning online college and I'm definitely on a budget. I need to be able to; take webcam proctored tests, create and submit assignments, and download materials (probably a few other things as well) what is the difference between Intel, Intel I3-7, AMD....am I forgetting anything? I'm not sure if I'd like a laptop or an all-in-one or a tower..I like the idea of a large monitor for an all-in-one to be able to watch TV. In this case what I need a monitor or would a television be a viable or cheaper alternative? Everytime I get a laptop I seem to break it. I'd also like it to be able to read and write DVD. Does anyone have an opinion? I always want the newest and best however in this case I'm not sure if necessary. Maybe it is? I'd appreciate any input. I should probably add I'm a very driven student and it's important that my work is done appropriately. Thanks for your help
Highlighted
Emerging Expert

Re: Online college student; understanding the best and most cost effective computer for my needs

Your hardware needs are actually pretty small.  Most laptops for desktops will do what you asking right out of the box.  However some laptops these days do not come with a DVD drive. so you would want to watch out for that.

For cost effective your generally better off with a non laptop computer.  

Since your one a budget I would look around for a monitor first.  Modern monitors last for years. I  have spare Dell 17" monitor that somebody gave to me.  Works great. 

Now to your quesiton. between intel i3 to i7 or AMD.  That is the processor in the comptuer that is really the brains and heart.  For most people the difference are negligable.   People who want to run grapic intensive games or heavy video or photo editing may want a higher end processor   For your purposes any processer should be fine.