Add Product

Search Results:

Highlighted

My Best Buy Laptop is not BEST!

Hi.

I bought a XPS M1330 at BestBuy in Sept 19, 08.(and of course it's XPS)

After that it happened to be the 'blue death screen' more than 5 times. I sent back to Best Buy and they ran a diagnostic. After 4 days, they said 'it was virus' and I have to pay $130 to remove the virus.

The problem is I have McAfee Antivirus and I'm pretty sure it's not the virus came in since I'd scanned this everyday.(and my university's firewall is quite reputable)

Then, The Geek Squad also suggested to reformat the laptop and I did! But the 'blue death screen' happened again twice after I reformatted. Of course, this confirmed it wasn't the virus.

I'm a student and I don't have big $$$ to put on this laptop anymore. And i never had this problem before with previous laptop NEC.

Can somebody advise me what protection I'm covered and can I returned/exchange this machine ?

Thanks. 

Highlighted
Topics: 1,151
Kudos: 565
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 280

Re: My Best Buy Laptop is not BEST!

A virus? LOL thats funny because usually when I get a BSOD its probably from hardware issues.
***Please keep in mind that I am not employed by Best Buy and are just a regular forums Super User and an everyday shopper like you. If you find my posting helpful, please add kudos to it. Remember to mark answered questions as solved if something helped you to speed up the answer queue for other customers***
Highlighted
Recognized Member

did u get the protection service plan?

if u did, go to another best buy and tell them u just reformat ur computer and do another diagnostic.

either u did or you didn't you can contact manufacture (dell) and tell them the issue. bad hard drive is covered by manufacture's warranty.

i heard from a lot of people that that's the same issues with the dell studio.

Highlighted