Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

I do not have wifi ... I have Cox cable (cable, internet, and phone) .... how do I connect computer with new TV? Mind you ... my last TV was probably older than dirt .... (built in vhs and dvd) .... I would love to connect to internet on new tv ... any thoughts? Thank You

Posts: 9,105
Topics: 424
Kudos: 627
Solutions: 399
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

Hello jmcantrell,

 

Welcome to Community@Insignia!

 

I'll be happy to look into this for you if you will please reply with your TV model number. Additionally, how is your cable service connected to your TV? What is the brand and model number of your computer? What output ports for audio/video does your computer have (e.g., VGA, HDMI, DVI, etc.)?

 

Regards,

John

Insignia Support

John|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

Good Morning

 

My tv is NS-39DR510NA17 - Insignia Roku TV 39 LED 1080p purchased last night.

 

My cable is Cox and it is connected through the Ciscon box (4742HDC).

 

I do not have dvr.

 

My computer (ACPI x64 based PC) is an older PC.

 

My computer connects to a router (DPQ3212 Cisco router) for internet and phone. 

 

Realtek Digital High Def output for both audio and optical.

 

Thank you for responding

Posts: 9,105
Topics: 424
Kudos: 627
Solutions: 399
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

Hello jmcantrell, 

 

Thank you for your message.

 

The only means by which to connect to the internet from this TV for the Roku feature is via WiFi. Your cable provider should be able to offer you a router for this purpose (Comcast was able to fix this up for me at my home). There may be a fee associated with the upgrade, so please consult Cox for further information and options.

 

To use your TV as a display for your computer, you will likely need to connect the computer directly to your TV via HDMI instead of to your router. If your computer does not have an HDMI output, you may need a VGA to HDMI converter.

 

Cox may be able to offer alternative solutions, so I would again recommend contacting them for assistance with your setup.

 

Regards,

John

Insignia Support

John|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

I was given a router and it is connected to the computer.

 

So it sounds like if I can connect the computer directly to the tv and bypass router, I should be able to to view internet like HBO GO.

 

I am already paying Cox an outrageous amount of mney for basic cable, phone and internet. Cannot really afford more fees.

 

I will look at the back of my computer and compare connections on tv as well.

 

Thank you so much ..... you have helped me a lot with this issue.

 

Smiley Happy

 

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

Just FYI ...

 

Had neighbor come up here with cable to help with this issue and it only caused more problems

 

He connected computer to tv with HDMI and it caused my computer to go into a "display fit"

 

The two (displays) cannot run together.

 

It's all good ...

 

I will take what I can get with new TV and no internet on TV.

 

Thanks!

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2018

Re: Just Purchased 39 LED TV 1080p - WIFI?

Sucks to have new tv that sales guy said I woulld not have to do anything special to make the whole SMART tv work.

 

Now I am upset