Add Product

Search Results:

HP TX2500 overheating/fan problem

Hello,

I have the HP Pavillion TX2500 tablet/touchscreen laptop, model: tx2525nr and lately it was be overheating A LOT! It has been overheating to the point that can't put it on my lap like a "laptop" should be able to. Also, the fan is extremely loud. Since my tablet is overheating, even the right side of the keyboard/keys start to get really hot and man i feel like it is going to explode one of these days. Also, the battery life is really bad now. Normally it would last be about 2 hours (yeah i know, it sucks), and now it dies in about 1 hr and that's just having wifi on, low brightness, and working on microsoft word. I am a full time student and basically i use this to take notes in class and for music. No games or anything intense. It is still covered by warranty and i had the motherboard replaced about a year ago because my screen went black. 

Does anyone have any tips on what i can do to stop this overheating problem, fan loudness, and save battery life?

Should i just take my laptop into bestbuy (my warranty expires in september) and just be like yo, this piece of plastic is just overheating and it's really hard to deal with?

thanks everyone!! Smiley Happy

Valued Contributor

Re: HP TX2500 overheating/fan problem

When you use your laptop literally on your lap, are you blocking the air intakes and outputs?  There must be a constant, unblocked flow of air through the case in order to keep the laptop cool.  You could also check your power settings and change them to balanced if they are currently set to high power or always on. 

The fan loudness indicates it is trying to move more air.  I suspect blocked intakes or exits, or perhaps dust and debris has accumulated inside the unit.

If you are using it on yoru lap, the uneven, relatively soft surface of your lap could be blocking airflow. 

Does the laptop overheat if you use it on a flat, hard surface?