Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-25-2012

Atheros Wireless Adapter

I need a laptop with a Atheros wireless adapter, if there are any in bestbuy or else where, please link here Smiley Happy

Posts: 8,748
Topics: 648
Kudos: 503
Solutions: 315
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

It's hard to tell which chipset will be in any given laptop.

Can I ask why you need that specific chipset?




If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year 5 years ago. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-25-2012

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

I wish to do security testing against wireless access points, Atheros works very well and I have had a pleasant experience with it.

Posts: 8,748
Topics: 648
Kudos: 503
Solutions: 315
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

Make sure you get the newest version of BT Smiley Wink

Honestly, it's a crap shoot. Most laptops will support it.




If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year 5 years ago. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-25-2012

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

Ha, I will make sure to download R3 or R4 if its out by then.

 

I have seen many laptops with a supported chipset, but it is a gamble... maybe I can go to the store and look at the chipset there.

Highlighted
Posts: 8,748
Topics: 648
Kudos: 503
Solutions: 315
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

I'm not too keen about R3 yet, but it's growing on me.

What I did was watched Craigslist for a cheap netbook. It runs BT very well, I can look at my ASUS to tell you what it has. Give me a few to turn it on.




If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year 5 years ago. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
Posts: 8,748
Topics: 648
Kudos: 503
Solutions: 315
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

Interesting, BT doesn't recognize which chipset I have, but it works fine.

I think they're building in more support, but obviously you know that some chipsets are better than others.





If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year 5 years ago. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-25-2012

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

If they do add new support it might be buggy. I just want to get it and boot on linux, no driver patching or making sure monitor mode is supported

Posts: 8,748
Topics: 648
Kudos: 503
Solutions: 315
Registered: ‎02-12-2009

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

Well. Come to think of it, you could just put the ISO onto a flash drive using UNetBootIn and take it with you and boot it on the display laptops. Lol, might get a few weird looks, but it shouldn't be a problem.




If you like my post, or solution to your issue/question, go ahead and click on the little star by my name and/or accept the post as the Solution. It makes me happy.

I'm NOT an employee of Best Buy, or Geek Squad, though I did work as an Agent for a year 5 years ago. None of my posts are to be taken as the official stance that Best Buy will take on your situation. My advice is just that, advice.
Unfortunately, that's the bad luck of any electronic, there's going to be bad Apples... wait that's a horrible pun.
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-25-2012

Re: Atheros Wireless Adapter

I dont think the best buy guys would be to okay with me booting linux onto their computers and testing if wireless hacking software works fine Smiley Happy

 

In total bestbuy wouldn't be to happy with somone getting 100% control over their display laptops.

 

Would be fun though.

 

I have a old laptop that has Atheros, Sony Vaio... cant get exact details at the moment, but it had Atheros and worked wonderfully... I just dont know if they make the same laptop.