Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-29-2015

Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

I recently set up an appointment to get my Sound Ordnance B-12 subwoofer and Sound-Ordnance-M-4050 amplifier set up in my 03 Eclipse GTS. Do I need to buy anything else like speaker wire or will Best Buy just have the parts and charge me for them?

   

Highlighted
Emerging Expert
Posts: 6,514
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

Best Buy should have everything they need to do your install.

 

Typically wire is included in the cost of installation unless you want a higher quailty wire.  But what they use is more than good wire.

 

Please leave Kudo’s if you like a post or click Accept as Solution if a post answers your query. I am not an employee of Best Buy and all opinions left on this forum are my own.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-29-2015

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

Would the $140 installation fee usually cover those extra things like wires?

Highlighted
Emerging Expert
Posts: 6,514
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

The only situation that would arise is if there is something sub standard for your install and they would need to do something special.  For your Eclipse I don't think you should have an issue. 

 

However, if something comes up the installers would ok it with you first.

 

Please leave Kudo’s if you like a post or click Accept as Solution if a post answers your query. I am not an employee of Best Buy and all opinions left on this forum are my own.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-29-2015

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

I know when they installed my stereo they said I had a built in amplifier that was stock in the GTS model of the Eclipse so hoepfully that won't be a problem.

Highlighted
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,587
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?


@newton4242 wrote:

I know when they installed my stereo they said I had a built in amplifier that was stock in the GTS model of the Eclipse so hoepfully that won't be a problem.


 

sorry for jumping in late here, but newton4242 are you talking about running an amp and subwoofer? if you are, your factory amplifier will not work to power any subwoofer that is commercially available.  Kinda confusing i know, but lets see if i cant sum it up a little better.  When the tech installed your radio he informed you that you have a "factory amplifer" and given that its a mitsubishi, it will be the infinity amplifier.  this amplifier that comes stock with your vehicle when you buy it from the dealership is there to run your "stock speakers."  (you can run aftermarkets off them also, just not a subwoofer).  your stock speakers are going to be able to handle a little more power than stock speakers that are non amplified, because of the option that came with the vehicle.  The infinity amplifier is not there to supply any more power to additional components, especially not an aftermarket subwoofer.

 

subwoofers require alot of power and most of the commercially availiable subwoofers will start off as low as 150W RMS, which is now pretty low considering the technology that the companies are supplying now at cheaper costs.  the most common speakers are going to be anywhere between 250-600W RMS.  These are the most common wattages for a single subwoofer now-a-days.  WIth that much power you will need an external amplifer that is capable of running that required power of the subwoofer.  Amplifier powers will range usually in 250W incriments, so 250, 500, 750, 1000W.  You will always have manufactures like kicker who will put their wattages inbetween such as 300, 600, 1200W, so you can always find an amplifier that is as close to RMS as you can get. 

RMS or route means squared, is pretty much what the devices will run at on a continual basis, so make sure you look at "continuous power" or "RMS" when selecting your products. the closer you get to one another the better your system will convert the power into energy for longevity of your products.  don't forget your need power wire also to send to the amplifier.  a good rule that I use, and others might disagree, but it works for most new d-class amplifiers, anything under 500W can use 8AWG wire, and anything above 500W should use 4AWG.  1/0AWG will be used for amplifiers that are 1000W and above, but for the most part, amplifiers that are most commonly brought in will use 8AWG or 4AWG. 

i hope this clarifies a little bit for you when you are looking to add on a new amp and sub in your vehicle.  If you have any further questions don't hesistate to ask, again im sorry i didn't respond sooner to this post.  best of luck, and thanks for your questions!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Highlighted
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,587
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

forgot to add costs so heres a quick breakdown of the most common amp and subwoofer charges

 

material charge                        $5 (shop supplies, all customers are charged this on top of installation)

amp installation                        $99 (2 channel/monoblock amps)

4 channel amp                         $119 (amplifier to power speakers **additional parts (rcas,speedwire,LOC's)**

factory amp integration            $25 (factory radio integration with LOC)

 

(both installations below are only charged if subwoofers need to be mounted in the box)

Subwoofer mount                     $20

dual subwoofer mount             $40

 

Amp Kits

Kicker 8AWG                           $99.99

Kicker 4AWG                           $149.99

Truconnects 8AWG                 $79.99

Truconnects 4AWG                 $109.99

 

Hope this helps!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-29-2015

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?

Hi, no problem I just purchased the Sound Ordnance B-12 subwoofer and a mono amp JVC KS-AX3201D. I bought a wiring kit too and brackets for the subwoofer box but is there anything else I need to provide?

Highlighted
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,587
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Whats needed to install an amp and subwoofer?


@newton4242 wrote:

Hi, no problem I just purchased the Sound Ordnance B-12 subwoofer and a mono amp JVC KS-AX3201D. I bought a wiring kit too and brackets for the subwoofer box but is there anything else I need to provide?


 

if you have all of that Newton4242 you have all that you will need for the installation to take place.  Are you needing assistance with scheduling an appointment? if so click this link and follow your prompts:

https://autotech-scheduling.geeksquad.com/

 

make sure that you select the features that you wanting.  I have never personally used the system, but make sure that the time frame falls between 2-3 hours.  you can select which times you are wanting every 15 minutes on our schedule so if there isn't a time slot, that just means there are appointments during those time frames.   Let us know how the installation goes on here, and if you want to help out the installer, please fill out the survey that is sent to you after your installation is completed.  Thanks for asking all the great questions, and if there is anything i can do for you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to ask! Best of luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!