Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-03-2014

Viper Remote Problem

Hello,

 

I had Best Buy install Viper 4806v to my 2010 Corolla but I have a question.

 

The Viper remote does not lock/unlock/open trunk when the car engine is off but when the engine is on, I can use those features.

 

While the engine is off, I press lock/unlock and the horn honks and light flashes but it does not lock/unlock.

The remote works fine with engine on and off.

 

Is this normal or was the installation incomplete?

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-03-2014

Re: Viper Remote Problem

I noticed in one of the FAQ says

"

Remote start keyless entry:

A remote start with keyless entry will allow you the added range of your existing power locks (if equipped), and add remote start all in a single “key fob.” So now you can toss your old factory key fob, and replace it with a new Viper or Compustar remote with basic features such as lock, unlock, trunk release, panic, and remote start. Ranges of remote start keyless entry will range between 1000ft-1mile.

"


I don't have keyless entry but I was hoping to get rid of my old key fob and hold on to the viper remote and a key just to start the car, which is smaller than than the factory FOB but I have to hold on to both.

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper Remote Problem

imyoungxD,

  Factory keyless on most toyotas will be unable to be used when the car is running.  what you are saying if i am hearing you correctly, is that your aftermarket keyless entry off the viper remote only works when the car is running.  This is new to me, if your vehicle is equipped with power locks then the viper 4806v should lock and unlock them with the engine running or not. 

 

The 4806v has a 1 mile range, and is one of my favorite units, so it is disheartening to hear that you are having these issues.  WIth that said, locks should have been hooked up at the time of the installation, and in doing so, they should work with car running or not.  the trunk release would entail another option that is a standard add on of 39.99, but locks are included.  

 

I am grateful that you took the time to write with us, but you should use our lifetime labor warranty, and schedule an appointment for some warranty work.  to make the warranty work faster, please bring in all the receipts/invoices that you were given after the installation so that they can pull up your information quicker, and work on the car faster.  if you should need further assistance, your best bet would be to work with that stores installers to remedy the situation! best of luck and thank you for your post!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-03-2014

Re: Viper Remote Problem

Thanks

 

I will call another Best Buy auto technician at another Best Buy location and see if they can assist

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper Remote Problem

And i apologize, the post was in the FAQ was referring to the key fobs that just have the basic features on them such as "lock, unlock, trunk, panic, (sliding doors). You would then be able to use the viper keyfob for those functions, with additional parts and installation, if required.

Keyfobs that are built into the key, and proximity keys (for push to start vehicles), would still need to be used to drive the vehicle. These keyfobs will have the key and the chip built into them. These chips or the physical key are needed upon entering a remote started vehicle, or the vehicle will shut down when the brake pedal is pushed.

I am sorry if i led you to believe that you would only be able to carry the viper remote, if your keyfob on your toyota has the key or chip imtegrated with it. With that said if you are ever jnterested you can look into the viper smart start to do all the commands of your viper 4806v that you had installed, from your cellphone. Directed does have a subscription fee for the free application.

Thanks again for posting and hope you get your issued fixed here in the near future. Make sure to set up an installation appointment instore or online! Best of luck!
I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,559
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Viper Remote Problem

Whoops forgot to mention once the problem is remedied with the locks, the viper remote key fob should lock, unlock, flash parking lights, horn honk (standard add on 39.99), trunk release (standard add on 39.99), and remote start.
I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!