Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2015

Customize My Own Route On a Gps

i just bought a garmin 42lm gps and im havin trouble customizing my own route to where i wanna go.  i need help

Highlighted
Posts: 22,288
Topics: 14,511
Kudos: 358
Blog Posts: 23
Solutions: 409
Registered: ‎10-10-2012

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

[ Edited ]

Hello StripOWind-

 

If you're encountering some issues with this, I would recommend contacting Garmin support here.  Otherwise, a member of our community may be able to assist you if you'd like to wait for one to post.

 

Thanks!

Bill|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,592
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

stripowind,

     If you want to post the issue that you are having with a little more detail, I might be able to assist you in your route setting.  Below are the basic route settings for Garmin 42lm (might miss a few details here and there, sorry if i do).

 

Where to?  and View Map are your 2 options on the screen.  If you click on view map you can find out where you currently are in the world.  If you are seeing an unknown street, address, building, or different state that you are not in, then please head outside to get a clear view of the sky, so that the satellites can aqcuire signal on your location.

 

once you have the correct location displayed on where you are at, you can now navigate.  Click the back arrow at the bottom right or left of the screen from view map.  Now click on the Where To.  from there you can type in the exact address by clicking "address."  this will then pull up a new screen with an option of the STATE.  If the address is in the same state, and it already has your location you will be able to then click on the state that is provided.  If you are wanting to navigate to a different state then you can click the bottom option that reads state, and enter the one you are looking for. 

 

Once you click on the state, a new screen will pop up asking for the city, start typing in the city within the state, and by the process of elimination with the cities that are in that state, there will be keys that will not be able to be pressed, and other keys that will help you click them, by being the only ones you can press.  It is garmins cool way to get you to your address much quicker, by helping eliminate your possible miss entries when clicking on the keyboard. 

 

once the city is selected you will then be able to click next, and pop up a new screen.  it will then ask for either the street name or house number.  enter whatever the next few screens prompt to get you to the button that says "GO."  Once you see that go you are now able to click that button, the garmin will then load the proper guidance for you and you are NAVIGATING!   Hope this helps you out, and please use garmins website to address more in depth FAQ's that can be found here:

https://support.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/search.htm

 

In case I messed up or missed a step.  Thanks for taking the time to post your concerns, and please don't hesitate to let me know if i could assist you further!

 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2015

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

well garmin told me that I could upgrade my gps and it has to have a trip planner. they told me that cause I wanna program on where I wanna go
Highlighted
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,592
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

so trip planner is a new application that is built in to allow its users to navigate from point A- point C, and manage to do it so that it is more of a loop saving you time and gas.  Trip planner is a feature on the 65lm which is the largest of our screens, with a screen of 6"!!! your 4.3 screen on your 42lm is a good size screen, but that 6 does come in handy if you have troubles seeing the buttons, or if you just want a bigger screen.  you can find trip planner under "apps" on your home screen at the bottom middle in between "Where to" and "view map."  I figured Trip planner was what you were looking for, but wasn't sure until you let me know.  There are other models that offer trip planner, but the 65lm is our first model that will be without bells and whistles, and below $165.  If you keep your eye on the ad, many times like last week, the 65lm will drop to the same price as the 52lm, so why not get the bigger size and trip planner for the same price!

 

Hope this helps, and best of luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Highlighted
Emerging Expert
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

I purchased a Nuvi for my wife about 8 or 9 years ago.  They had a version of the trip planner available at the time.

 

However, you can add STOPS as they are called

 

Set it up with your final destination.

 

Then Select a new location and choose GO then Add as a Via Point.

 

 

 

I am not an employee of Best Buy and all opinions left on this forum are my own. Please leave Kudo’s if you like a post or click Accept as Solution if a post answers your query.
Highlighted
Posts: 3,057
Topics: 64
Kudos: 70
Solutions: 33
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Customize My Own Route On a Gps

Do you mean the trip planner or picking 1 route out of multiple routes to take?

Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!