Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2010

Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Just posted this over on the Cumby forums, and they directed me here.  Hopefully there is a fix I can try to get back to a working state..or perhaps a link to an older firmware I can download to try and install.  I had Chumby firmware on a USB stick that I tried to restore in Special Options mode, but neither the USB update or the Network update options were available to me:

 

Picked up an 8" infocast yesterday, and got up and running with no issues.  Played around with content a bit and was very impressed and happy with the device.  A couple hours later I get a message asking if I want to update, and I said yes. 

After the second reboot the system started up and went into the activation screens, as if I had never activated the device.  I tried skipping, rebooted, rebooted and restored to factory defaults, etc.

One strange thing that I noticed is that the serial # no longer displays on the screen with the dots, as if the unit doesn't know what it's own serial # is.

I also tried logging into my account, deleting the original device registration, and re-trying the whole process above again.

Here is the really weird part:  when I first registered and set up my infocast, all of the screens and the "look" of the unit was consistent, with the green insignia background and logos, etc...Now, aside from the bootloader screen, the activation and whatnot appear that they belong to a Chumby One or something...really big font, blue/white color scheme etc.  Without knowing what really happened and just guessing here, but it looks like the unit decided to download the wrong device's firmware.

I was hoping to find the infocast-specific firmware somewhere that I could try applying via USB stick and see if that would do the trick.

I really don't want to return my Infocast but at this point I am pretty stuck.  Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide.

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2010

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Can any of the official Insignia folks provide any insight here?  I've been trying every possible solution for days with this thing, and no luck.  Today, it managed to boot up normally ONE time.  A single reboot later and I was stuck at the blue/white activation screen, and no ID present.  Tried about 50  reboots after that and could not get a single successful reboot.

 

Is there anything I can run from the SSH shell that might help here?

 

Posts: 9,158
Topics: 424
Kudos: 644
Solutions: 402
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Hello tone,

Welcome to Community@Insignia™!

I apologize for the late reply.  Please watch for a private message from me.  To check your forum inbox, ensure that you've signed in with your user name and password, then click the envelope icon in the upper right.

Regards,
John
Insignia™ Support

John|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-04-2010

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Was this issue resolved? I and a friend just bought infocasts this week, and he had the same problem when he did an update. I have yet to turn mine on at all, and now I'm afraid too! Is it safe yet?

Visitor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-25-2010

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Had the same thing happen to me as well... Took my device back to BB and got it replaced with no problem as it was still under warranty Smiley Happy

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-04-2011

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

I have this same problem although I just pulled it out of the box.  I ordered it via web, waited for it for about 10 days and now I get it to register.  Please let me know how to fix.  Once again before I can activate (when I putting the 16 blob code) it reads nothing in the ID section.  If I do enter the code correctly, then try and activate, it tries to go the next level, then return a empty Chumby ID in my browser.  I hit activate and it fails EVERY TIME.

 

Please PM with the solution ASAP.

 

--Mike

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2010

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

Sorry, I was not able to resolve my issue on my own...

 

Insignia folks did contact me to try and get my issue resolved, but by that time I had already returned my unit to the store for a replacement as it was only a couple of days old.  I haven't had a repeat of the problem on my new unit.

 

 

Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-04-2011

Re: Infocast 8" bricked after firmware update

SOLVED!!!!

 

No thanks to Insignia.  I poked around for awhile last night and found this link from the Chumby forum.  Apparently it is too hard for Insignia to have this HOT-LINKED on the front of this forum so people can see what the F- is wrong when they plug in the unit and it doesn't work. The craziest part is that is on the forum! It does require having a USB storage drive.

 

Follow the link and do the USB update and the Insignia will work like a charm:

 

http://insignia.chumby.com/pages/help_infocast_8_software_update

 

Good luck to anyone else having the problem!