Add Product

Search Results:

Difficulty making purchase

[ Edited ]

Dear Best Buy: 

After my most recent purchase I would like to share with you some ways that you could streamline your sales and make things more convenient for customers. 

I am a high school teacher and I find myself looking at multiple students on the very small school issued computer monitor. I found the best monitor for my needs at Best Buy. It is a 32" Dell gamining monitor that allows me to see all of my students at once. Best Buy has the best monitor at the best price. 

My school has Best Buy as a registered vendor, so we are allowed to write checks there, but as a public school, we are not allowed to pay taxes. Usually, I take a tax ID letter to a vendor and the do not charge taxes for the purchase. With Best Buy, one has to get an ID number from Best Buy to use the TaxID number. The school District can get a number, but then the bill would go to the district office and not the school. That means that the school system could purchase tax exempt items, but no school can. In my frustration and desperate need for this new monitor, I asked the manager at my local Best Buy in Mobile Alabama if I could bring in a check from the school for the price without tax and then personally pay the $47 in sales tax. He told me it was not a problem. I got a PO and went through the process of getting a check cut. 

The young lady at Best Buy was obviously frustrated when I brought in a check. She told me before I used it that it would probably get declined. Best Buy uses Telecheck to catch fraud. I'm sure they have a great record because they decline all checks. They declined my check from my public school because the public school doesn't write enough checks to Best Buy. Let that sink in. 

I called Telecheck, but they will only speak to the account holder of the check.