Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2019

Customer Service Survey

Apparently Best Buy isn’t interested in feedback as I cannot find anywhere to rate or give them feedback on my negative experience. I was sold an unsuitable device (broadcast tv dvr) by floor salesman. I was not advised of additional equipment needed (external storage device, wi fi router and subscription app). I gifted the item to my wife for birthday as we are recent cable cutters and enjoy recording some programming. Now a couple weeks later when gift is unwrapped and I go to install, I realize it’s not a self contained item. Presented it back to Best Buy unopened with anticipation they may have what I was looking for a refund was denied. Could only issue an in store credit. Okay, do you have what I need.....no. No leeway on day 16 of their 15 day policy. I guess I’m the sucker for taking a floor salesman’s word and not reading more thoroughly and asking challengeing questions. The salesman nor Best Buy could care.... they made their sale regardless of my level of satisfaction.
Posts: 7,189
Topics: 116
Kudos: 396
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎12-23-2016

Re: Customer Service Survey

[ Edited ]

Hi, kwt1957,

 

Thanks for joining us at the Best Buy Community forums. I’m sorry about the bad experienceyou had with that gift you purchased.

 

We do send surveys out to select customers after purchases, but we don’t send them out to everyone. We’re always happy to hear feedback here on the forums, however.

 

Under our Return & Exchange Promise, most products will have a 15-day return period for most customers. It will be extended for our Elite and Elite Plus My Best Buy members to 30 and 45 days, respectively.

 

That said, I’d like to look into this particular situation, and see if we can find a way to assist here. I’m not sure what might be possible until looking into it, but I’d like to at least check.

 

If you could please get back to me, through a private message by using the link in my signature, I’ll just need your name, email address, phone number, and the customer service PIN from the bottom of your receipt.

 

Sincerely,

Kyle R|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 2,179
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Customer Service Survey

"Could only issue an in store credit. Okay, do you have what I need.....no. No leeway on day 16 of their 15 day policy."

 

Following the policy, you would not have been entitled to a store credit as the item was out of return policy.  It sounds like they were working with you by offering an exception return, while it does not provide a refund it gives you store credit so you are not stuck with an item you cannot use.  These also do not expire, so you would be able to use this at any point when you find an item you wish to purchase.

I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-02-2019

Re: Customer Service Survey

Jfogg836-
Your post is just as smug as the store managers demeanor was. I see a culture here. Say what you wish but this will be my last interaction with BestBuy....on-line or in person.
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 2,179
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Customer Service Survey

I'm sorry you've read it with a tone, it was not the spirit I wrote it in.  I re-read my post and I honestly still don't see it, I quoted your post and then clarified that the exception return was the store associates using the tools at their disposal to help you out.  Maybe a store credit is not what you wanted, but it is definitely better than an item you have no use for.  Another common concern is the misconception that the credit expires, I also made sure to clarify that should that have been your concern.  

 

At my store, we are willing to make an exception in these instances to help our customers out, but as I've stated this provides a store credit to you.  There is no alternative when you have exceeded your return period, without a manager's override for the exception it would deny it altogether.  Hopefully as time progresses you will see the store credit offer as the olive branch it was intended as since you didn't qualify for a straight return, instead of an insult.  In time, I hope you will consider Best Buy for future purchases.  

I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***