Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-24-2021

Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

You can search to your heart's content online and not find a solution to your problem.  Best Buy says to contact Toshiba but Toshiba refers you right back to Best Buy.  I can't believe that this TV has lasted only 2.5 years and now will not pair with the remote NO MATTER WHAT.  THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2021

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

I have the same problem! Mine was 11 months old. I had to purchase a new TV. It is Best Buy’s issue. They are programing their out of box TVs for in-store use.
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 2,431
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

Compel, the company who manufactures all new Toshiba Televisions sold in the US, has a number to contact for support. http://tvna.compal-toshiba.com/us/en/support/

While Best Buy and Geek Squad may be able to assist in some repairs under Compal’s warranty, Best Buy is only the retailer and does not have any authority to override their warranty terms and conditions.

I’m not sure what @brenjean means behind “programming out of box televisions for in store use”. All new televisions come straight from the manufacturer. Some models are on display, which would be taken out of the box and displayed for the entire length of the model run. A display is simply plugged in and ran through to scan for channels, which taking home and re-running the scan will completely eliminate. Open box televisions sold at a discount can be customer service returns or former display units.
I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Valued Contributor
Posts: 2,484
Registered: ‎02-07-2011

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

Oh great, Compaq is making TV's now? They have made the cheaper model laptops for Lenovo, HP, and Dell for 20 years
New Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-27-2021

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

Let me clarify what I mean. I have 5 Toshiba TVs. I only purchased one (1) from Best Buy directly. It is the ONLY TV that would not read the remote after the automatic update! Best Buy wanted me to pay the Geek Squad half the value to fix it. If hundreds of people are having the same issue with a purchase from a particular store, is it the Brand or the store? It is what it is at this point. I brought a new TV, trashed the other one, and have told everyone I know NOT to purchase electronics from Best Buy. Let’s dead this conversation.
Posts: 4,977
Topics: 53
Kudos: 382
Solutions: 305
Registered: ‎11-29-2016

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

Good afternoon, katelalouf,

 

While I wish your visit to our forums were under more fortunate circumstances, I do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.  Having a TV remote no longer functioning as expected would be an understandably frustrating experience, and I regret to hear this is the case with your Toshiba TV.

 

As jdogg836 has pointed out, you may have a few options available to you, in order to perform some troubleshooting and resolve the issue.  The link jdogg836 provided previously may prove useful, otherwise if you’ve purchased a Geek Squad protection plan (GSP) with your TV, you may be able to schedule a repair service with our Geek Squad, so they can take a closer look into this issue.  If this is something you would be interested in, I would recommend contacting our Geek Squad directly at 1-800-433-5778, or following this link for more scheduling options.

 

Regards,

SeanM|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-24-2021

Re: Toshiba/Best Buy trying to hide from customers

I was never able to get the Toshiba to recognize my WIFI after years of everything being OK.  Let me make this perfectly clear:  I did NOT find a solution to this problem, so I MOVED the TV into another room so I could hard-wire it to my router ("ethernet" cable is the fancy word).  Once I did that, the TV would search for the remote and never find it.  I did all the tricks I found online to no avail.  I finally broke down and called the number I found inside the remote.  In the end, THE SOLUTION WAS TO HOLD DOWN THE POWER BUTTON--on the TV, NOT the remote--for 30 seconds.  That was a partial solution.  It still will not accept voice commands but I'm so done with troubleshooting these issues.