Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020
Accepted Solution

Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Well I’m incredibly confused as to why anyone would ever recommend purchasing a protection plan. Spent $40 to guarantee a $200 game controller that has a defect. Tried the online chat first and was told to go to any store with it in stock for an exchange. After calling around and finding the only store that had one within 100 miles, I was told they couldn’t hold it for the hour plus that it would take me to drive there. Sure enough, they sold it out from under me after a good 45 minutes of driving. Now I’m told to go to the store nearest me (the one 10 minutes away closed, now that’s another 45 minutes each way, and I’m in the middle of New Orleans, not Siberia) to drop off the defective item and wait a few weeks for them to hopefully ship a replacement. No way to just order it to the store and exchange it in one trip. No way to hold it if they do get one. The Protection Plan specifies an option to receive a refund or replacement by mail but that’s just a bald-faced lie. So I get to drive several more hours, go for weeks with no controller at all, and just hope that maybe they don’t screw me over again. Waited nearly 3 hours to be disappointed by customer service but they couldn’t be bothered. I regret doing business with Best Buy and will assure anyone that listens that the protection plan is an absolute waste of time, money, and effort.
Highlighted
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 1,747
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

In these unprecedented times, there are presently supply chain issues and processes that are slimmed down so that we can continue to offer the core elements of our services to our customers.  Some of the options under GSP and Replacement Plans are currently unavailable because the teams responsible are not presently available.  

 

It is unfortunate that the item was sold before you got there, but as our systems are fully connected so that available products can be purchased online and in store it is not possible to "hold" items any more.  Anyone anywhere can purchase the item either for store pickup or for delivery at any time.

 

A recommendation for the future:  if you have a credit card with available balance enough to cover the item in the short term, you should order it online for store pickup which will lock in the item for you.  Wait for the item to show "ready for pickup" and then proceed to the store.  Once there, have them cancel the order and perform the exchange.  You will see an "authorization hold" a.k.a pending charge for a few days which will fall off as the order was never completed.  

 

I have personally used my replacement plan for an Xbox One Elite controller which started to have severe Left Bumper issues and was able get a replacement for the cost of the replacement plan.  Much cheaper than buying another controller outright, which would have been my only other choice as the manufacturer's warranty was 90 days.

I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Of course, why take care of existing customers when there’s a new sucker out there to sell a worthless protection plan to? It’s not like the words in the description of the protection plan mean anything. Why worry about mailing a replacement, or pretending to care?
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

You’re lucky that you were able to watch out for your own product rather than having to deal with Best Buy customer service. It’s terrible.
Highlighted
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 1,747
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

I used mine by going through customer service and performing the return exchange. Due to a pandemic that is killing people, this process has been moved to curbside but it works the same way. If the item is truly broken, then there should be no issue with returning it and getting a replacement on order. After all, it’s broken. It is a shame that the item will have to be ordered, but it is understandable. Supply chains are constrained due to the same pandemic that has our stores closed to foot traffic. It’s happening everywhere, I just spent $60 on steaks which is about 30% higher than normal. But, we’re cooking out and I needed them.

I gave you steps on how to use your plan. You can also just return the plan for a prorated amount if you don’t want it.
I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Due to a pandemic that is killing people, I would appreciate not having to drive all over the state to try to get a replacement, only to be thwarted by Best Buy. Then be told I have to do so at least two more times because they refuse to consider shipping a replacement or holding one that comes in at whatever speed it may just long enough for me to come get it. It’s not the pandemic at issue, just a basic lack of customer service.
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Can I ship the defective item and wait for a replacement? No. Can I drive 45 minutes to the store, wait in line, drop off the defective item, wait for a replacement to come in, drive to the store again, wait in line, and have any guarantee of the item actually being there? No. Can’t hold it, that would be ridiculous.
Highlighted
Best Buy Employee
Posts: 1,747
Registered: ‎01-09-2015

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

I mentioned why holding an item doesn’t work, anyone with access to BestBuy.com can order it the moment it shows received at the store. That I why I shared the workaround above involving ordering the item when it shows available then having them cancel it and perform a return exchange.

Ideally, you should use the curbside service to return the item and place an order for the new item. This will create an order for the replacement, which will come in reserved for you and will never make it to the floor or online as available. It is literally just coming in for you. That’s how you guarantee an item is available.

I can certainly understand the fear of COVID-19, that’s why we aren’t just allowing everyone to come into the store. Employees should be able to handle this from curbside, wearing masks and gloves, while you wait safely in your car. I have seen this process first hand, including interactions with some customers opting to pop their trunk and allow the employee to grab the return and placing the exchange items back in the same place. While this may seem stressful, this is likely to remain the new norm for at least the foreseeable future. I live in an area where more than half of people don’t even wear a mask, so navigating most retail stores is a nightmare. I’m proud of Best Buy’s curbside solution, it’s designed from the top to the bottom in a way to protect customers and employees.

I get it, inventory shortages are no fun. But I’ve shared the options available at present. Hope you’ll take advantage of the replacement plan and use of one of them soon.
I am a Best Buy Employee, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Okay, this is the first mention that if I drive to the store and return the defective item a replacement would actually be reserved for me and not available to anyone coming in or online. I wasn’t even offered the option of going ahead and purchasing the item to reserve it. I probably would have done that, as much as I think the protection plan should prevent me from having to purchase the item a second time, even if it is refunded later. I spoke to representatives at two stores, several chats online, and several phone calls to customer service, and was left with the impression that nothing could be reserved for any time under any circumstances. I appreciate having some option, but it would have avoided a lot of wasted time and frustration if any of the previous representatives had offered assistance rather than apologizing, wishing me luck with what felt like a wild goose chase, and giving me either a link to another chat box or phone number to repeat the process.
Highlighted
Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-18-2020

Re: Protection Plan and “Customer Service” are a bad joke.a

Alright, finally waited enough hours to return the defective item and now I get to pay for a new protection plan if I want any semblance of a chance that this one may work for more than a couple of months. The least y’all could do after wasting so much of my time and money is a tiny discount on that. Oh, and they refuse to ship it to my home for no apparent reason, so I get to come back and waste several more hours to pick it up when/if a replacement comes in. Not sure how this is remotely acceptable to anyone. I regret everything about having worked with Best Buy, at least I won’t have to worry about that again.