Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-15-2016

Filing a Formal Corporate Complaint - Rude Service and No Commitment to the Geek Squad Install

To whom it may concern:

 

In June of 2015 I had Best Buy install an entire car audio system that included a Pioneer in dash radio, 2 Kicker component speakers, 2 Kicker coaxial speakers, an Alpine amplifier, and steering wheel controls. I decided to have them installed at Best Buy because of the warranties and benefits that Best Buy "claims" to come with their service. One of those being that according to Best Buy then in 2015 and now in 2019 per the Terms and Conditions "Should the need arise to sell your vehicle or return it at the end of a lease, Best Buy will reinstall the original factory audio equipment that were removed." On Friday, June 7, 2019 I had an appointment scheduled at 1:45PM with the AutoTech at the Downey store in CA store #872 to have them do exactly that - reinstall the factory equipment.

 

I called about a week prior to make the appoitnment and like always with Best Buy it was one of the hardest tasks for all of their teams to do. I spent nearly 45 mins attempting to reach someone who could help me set an appointment for this service. Everyone from the Customer Service 1-800 teams to the store employees seemed to be uneducated on their services. Nonetheless I made the appointment and showed up 15 mins early at 1:30PM to the appointment.

 

Immediately after meeting with Samuel, the Auto Tech at the Downey store #872, I was met with lots of pushback. Samuel was extremely condecending and expressed frustration about a previous interaction with another customer just hours before. I attempted to ignore his attitude and explain the reason I was there which was to have the orginal equipment reinstalled. He told me that he did not have any instructions on doing a revert and instead thought it would be a new install. He showed to be ignorant to the fact that Best Buy offered this service and instead explained that he has to charge for his hours of work regardless of the matter. He also explained that even if Best Buy did offer that service that it would be the original installer's job to do the revert. He argued that service to revert back to original equipment fell on the original tech who installed it and followed that tech. Of course I kept reiterating the Terms and Conditons until he finally said he would ask his GSM about the work. His GSM then told he to complete the work. I thought this would be the end of the conflict and he would begin working but he did not. He then asked to see the receipts because now that is how the service worked. That was odd since at first he claimed to not know about this service. Luckily, being that I am a Best Buy Elite Plus member I was able to help him find the receipts from June 2015 and he reviewed it more than 10 times and in each time he attempted to find a reason not to do the work. His final argument was that he could not do the work because I paid too little in June of 2015 but he said he could not understand why. I had to show him that the receipt said "Employee Sale" at the top for an employee purchase because I worked at Best Buy from 2013-2015. Samuel then said he could definetely not do the work because according to him "i got hooked up". He did this in the most conflicting of attitudes almost challenging me and for a moment I was afraid of him acting out physically against me. 

 

Finally, after dealing this Samuel and his attitude for about 30 mins I told him that I was not his previous customer and that I had been nothing but nice to him since the beginning of our interation hence I would appreciate the same respect back. Wow did this set him off, his eyes lit up and opened wide, he laughed and started walking towards the front of the store where he said his GSM was located. Then I was introduced to Adrian the "GSM" of store# 872. After Samuel explained to him his version and the fact that I had paid for it being an employee Adrian neglected to even give me a chance to talk. He to was condecending and in fact even more. I decided to not even push it and could tell exactly why Samuel had the attitude he had. It was because his GSM gave that to him as an example. I left never wanting to step foot in another Best Buy.

 

In conclusion, I worked for Best Buy from 2013-2015 and in those years I truly bought into the whole "Renew Blue" plan that corporate was pushing. Since the end of my tenure at Best Buy I have spent thousands of dollars there becoming an Elite and Elite+ member every year since. Now I truly doubt that I will shop there again unless Best Buy resolves this issue and takes action to correct these employees attitude. I have never been treated worse by anyone other than Best Buy employees now and its shocking because I do not remember ever being able to be that way when I worked there. The store I worked at was always focused on the customer experience and it helping drive sales. Also, when reviewing the Terms and Conditions in the following link:

http://storage.bestbuy.com/geeksquad/terms/geek_squad_autotech_installation/geek_squad_autotech_inst...

There is no mention that this service is not offered to employees or those who purchased it in the past with an employee discount. Please help alliviate this situation as I missed out on a day of work to make it to the appointment and lost out on over $200 by doing so. Please do so on or before June 17, 2019 or I will look to file a complaint with the BBB and/or the regulating bodies so that I may hopefully get this resolved. You may also contact me for further details.

 

Thank you, 

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,294
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Filing a Formal Corporate Complaint - Rude Service and No Commitment to the Geek Squad Install

Employee, former employee, or customer, everyone should be provided with the expert service that we strive for.  That said, I'm not entirely sure why you were met with this behavior but this definitely isn't the customer service that you deserved and we're glad you registered with the Best Buy forums to bring this to our attention.

 

That said, our installation warranty does cover the workmanship performed by a Best buy for the lifetime of the vheicle, including all mounting and wiring, provided that no additional installation work has taken place other than by an authorized Best buy Mobile Electronics Installation center.  This workamnship warranty is transferable provided the original installation invoice is presented and should the need arise to sell your vehicle or return it at the end of a lease, Best Buy will reinstall the original factry audio equipment that were removed.  In order to receive this service, the following criteria must be met:

  • All after-market equipment must have been purchased from and installed by Best Buy
  • No modifications were made to the vehicle to install the after-market equipment
  • an adpapter harness was used for all vehicle wiring connections
  • Factory equipment was not modified for a different application

If all of these were met then you should have certainly qualified for the factory reinstallation at no charge, however, if the product wasn't purchased by us, or there were modifications, then we would have to charge for there return to factory.  This labor is because OEM equipment has vehicle proprietary connectors that are very hard to revert back to if any modifications were made.  If you have a receipt for all the product and installation, you should be set for when a moderator swings by to help!  I do hope you're able to get this worked out so that you can get the vehicle returned to factory specifications, and now you just have to sit tight for a Corporate employee (mod) to reach out to you.  This team is fantastic and they should be able to get this squared away with an official response soon!

Best of luck!

 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-15-2016

Re: Filing a Formal Corporate Complaint - Rude Service and No Commitment to the Geek Squad Install

Hello Autotech796<

 

Thank you for your prompt response. Honestly, thank you for reassuring me that being a former employee should not take away from my customer experience especially since after that I have spent thousands of dollars at the stores since then and have proved to be a loyal customer. I cerntainly should not have received the treatment I did and hope that a moderator can review this as prompt as you did and find a solution.  

 

I have reviewed those terms and can say that I met those requirements. Luckily I was also able to find a copy of the installation paperwork. 

 

Hopefully corporate can also address the employees from the GSM to the autotech because I am sure I am not the only one who they have treated that way. In fact, I am scared to go into that store now because of how I was treated and sadly that is my local store. It will be hard for me to shop there or to have to travel to another Best Buy to do so. It is very unfortunate to lose customers because of employees who have not bought into the positive culture which has helped Best Buy strive in the recent years.  

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,294
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: Filing a Formal Corporate Complaint - Rude Service and No Commitment to the Geek Squad Install

Thanks for the reply!  Knowing you're not wanting to head back to the store, is there another location nearby where we could do the work you were looking for.  Have a couple different locations in mind so that our moderators can help out more efficiently.  We certainly don't want any of our customers to feel intimidated at any of our locations and if we're able to facilitate a better experience, you bet we'd want to try!

I'm happy to hear that it sounds like you've met all the requirements, and you should be getting a response within the next 2 to 3 business days, but definiately post a couple of stores and I could take a look at the shops nearest you too and see if they have some spots available.  Please know that I cannot promise these time slots are available when you actually schedule but I could give a rough estimate from days to weeks out just to help you out.

 

Shoot some store numbers or addresses for me to take a look.  I hope you're having a great day so far also!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Posts: 206
Topics: 12
Kudos: 57
Solutions: 12
Registered: ‎10-19-2017

Re: Filing a Formal Corporate Complaint - Rude Service and No Commitment to the Geek Squad Install

Hey there, rcastillo,

 

Thanks for taking the time to share this experience with us! Although I wish you had reached out to us under happier circumstances, I'm glad to see you've been working with the amazing Super User, autotech796, while waiting for a response. 

 

We know how important your vehicle is to you, so we appreciate that you came back to us to have it returned to the originally factory settings. That said, it saddens me to learn you received this much push-back during your appointment. The experience you described is far from the stress-free install we intended, so I'm glad you shared this with us to be looked into further.

 

Customers should never feel concerned that an employee might harm them physically, or worried about returning to one of our locations. Our goal is to always provide the best customer experience we can, regardless of if they're a customer, employee or former employee. It's disappointing to learn those values were not reflected during your recent visit, especially when you have remained such a loyal customer to us over the years.

 

I would be happy to share this feedback with our Downey, CA leadership on your behalf so this can be handled differently going forward, as well as document these concerns at our Corporate Office. Using the blue "Private Message" option in my signature, can you please share your full name, phone number, email address, and the date and time of your appointment?

 

Best,

 

 

Elle|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!