Add Product

Search Results:

Complaint Regarding Laptop Repair

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I'm a student at the University of Texas at Austin, and I recently purchased a laptop with Best Buy, that acts as my primary computer while I'm at school. Here's some information that I think is relevant:

MFG: HP Inc.

Desc. HP Envy x360 Convertible 13M-A

Model: 4AC53UA

SKU: 6237358

Serial: {removed per forum guidelines}

Purchased: 11/19/2018 

One day, while headed to class, I got on the bus, and half-fell half-sat down as the bus began moving, and I accidentally placed my bag sort of behind me. I thought nothing of it, but when I got home and took out my computet to do homework, to find that the screen digitizer was destroyed. I would never have even thought that the slight bit of pressure could destroy the screen ( through the case and through the thin but strong aluminum chassis of the laptop). Extremely dissapointed, I brought the computer to the Best Buy on 41st, hoping that sine there was no evidence of misuse (the glass and chassis were completely intact, no evidence that I dropped or damaged the unit, completely undectable until you turned the screen on) and was wondering since I had just barely purchased the PC, that some sort of options would be offered to me. However, I understood the nature of the digitizer damage and I understood that I would not be entitled to coverage under the manufaturers warranty.

This is the info on the quote that I got then:

Labor: COD

Parts: COD

Estimated Completion: 11/22/2018

Deposit: $84.95

Min Approved Amount: $284.95

Min Repair Amount: $284.95