Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

This is more of a Geek Squad Review. But does touch on Best Buy's customer service philosophy.

I was looking forward to having my newly purchased Sony XBR55X900E TV installed today. But it was not to be. Upon my Geek Squad Tech arriving, I showed him where the XBR55X900e would be mounted.  As well, I showed him the brand new, never used full motion wall mount I purchased elsewhere. Without any effort to inspect the mount or exploring how the mount attaches to the wall, He dismissed my mount as "unsafe" even though it is rated for 55" TV's up to 89 pounds, and sold by a major retailer. The Tech did offer to sell me a different wall mount off his truck, a proposition that I found distasteful. Interestingly, BestBuy offers many similar mounts with identical attachment hardware. The attitude conveyed is if ‘you don't buy my TV wall mount, you don't get your TV installed’.

One positive comment for the Tech, was he remained courteous throughout our brief encounter. While the discouraging downside is the overall impression conveyed that he was more interested (as it turned out, the impression affirmed by the BB manager as well) in refunding the transaction. In fact, the attitude was rather cavalier, more so -  we would prefer to refund rather than satisfy a customer. When asked for the name of the Tech’s managers, I was informed that the Tech currently does not have a manager, or any other supervision. He did volunteer that a colleague was filling the role until a manager is hired.  

The clear downside (which BB is eager to exploit) is to ignore the impact of poor service on future sales. In my case, I was planning to replace all my appliances via Best Buy. My decision is largely influenced by the conduct of my sales representative as well as my overall in store experience. That said, given the rather lack luster service side of the transaction, accompanied by the obvious message that my business is not valued, and dismiss-able.

I am not certain that the relief manager at the store understands the implication of his indorsement of the GS Tech' pronouncement that 'My' mount is unsafe for the intended purpose.  Best Buy sell several full motion mounts that are for all intents, and purpose, identical to my mount.  If the BB/ Geek Squad expert deems my mount unsafe, the it mut follow that any similar full motion mount sold by BB is equally unsafe.  The statement of the GS Technician, a person held out by Best Buy as an expert in his field, thereby puts BB on notice that a class of products offered by Best Buy are not safe for the intended purpose.  Thus, BB opens the gateway to additional liability.

 

 

 My case was handled poorly then and continues to be handled poorly.

 

While working to resolve the issues, I attempted to contact the Corporate Executive Resolution Team. The operator at Corporate informed me that unless I have the name of someone on the ERT, she cannot transfer my call.  My call to Corporate is emblematic of the problems at BB.  Offering a resource, but not being able to deliver on the resource, and avoid the issue by ignoring the issue.

 

Prior to writing this missive I called the Customer Service number. The CSR would not escalate the call or provide a contact to the ERT.

 

Is this the Customer Service standard that BB promotes? Or am I missing something?

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Review posted to Google+

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Review posted on Yelp.

New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

BBB complaint opened

Posts: 7,689
Topics: 80
Kudos: 311
Blog Posts: 46
Solutions: 320
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Hey pushkart,

 

Thanks for reaching out to us via our forum, and I am sorry if you have not received the service you expected from this Geek Squad Home Theater technician. I can promise you that this technician was not trying to sell a TV mount to you, but was sincere in their advice that the mount you had purchased would not be safe to be used with the TV you purchased in the place you wanted it mounted. As the technician is the trained expert I would of course have to believe this advice was correct. Our technicians are never to perform a service that could potentially cause an unsafe environment.

 

It is true we occasionally have turnover, and it sounds like that is what is happening with this technician's manager. When this happens a peer sometimes performs the duties of the service manager while we are hiring a replacement. What was the exact make and model of the mount you had? What is the exact make and model of the comparable mount we currently sell?

 

I actually sit right next to our phone operators here at our corporate headquarters in Richfield, MN. I just went and asked what they are required to do if a customer calls our corporate headquarters asking for our Executive Resolutions Team. I was advised by all of the operators that they are not to transfer the customer to our Executive Resolutions Team in situations like this. If instead the customer is requesting a specific member of our Executive Resolutions Team by name, or one of our Executives by name, they then would transfer that customer over to our Executive Resolutions Team. No employee of Best Buy is allowed to give out the contact information of another employee without that second employee's permission; that is why the operator you spoke to could not give you the contact information for a member of our Executive Resolution Team. I actually work about twenty feet from our Executive Resolutions Team.

 

I looked at your order and it looks like this purchase has now been cancelled and refunded. With all that said, what do you specifically need me to get done for you?

 

Thanks,

Allan|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Hum… Let me understand.

 

  1. You avoid the issue that if the full motion mount that I provided is substandard to the purpose. That being the case, then it must follow that the same class of products sold by Best Buy are equally unsafe. This raises the question as to: why is Best Buy selling products that are (in the expert opinion of a Best Buy employee) not safe, and substandard to the purpose they are intended?
  2. you surmise that the Geek Squad tech was not trying to sell me a mount although that is exactly what he did, or attempted to do during his brief visit. Telling isn’t it that he did not offer to install the smaller, lighter TV I purchased.
  3. If the Best Buy customer service ethos is (as practiced in this case) would you agree that the refund first policy is the weakest policy, and does not serve the interest of the customer or Best Buy?
  4. BestBuy goes out of its way to avoid complaints. There is no clear method on the web site to put forward a complaint. Calling Geek Squad customer is a waste of time as they are (by their admission, schedulers) BB customer service is a dead end. Attempting to escalate outside of your intransigent customer service is not possible. Why? Because the Executive Resolution Team is unreachable unless you know someone on the ERT.

 Tell me, what does it take to escalate to the ERT, a demand letter? 

I’ve read many of the issues raised in the BB forum. Interestingly, many remain without response. My take away is the BB view of customer service is more of the herd mentality, ‘if we mess up here… no matter, we’ll get another customer soon’. The problem with the BB customer service philosophy is that aggrieved customers may return, and buy small off the shelf items, but when it comes to larger purchases, BB transforms into a showroom for Amazon, or another online seller. After all, without the expectation of service, or worse, poor service then price becomes king.


Yes, the order was canceled. It is true the order was refunded. Both were the expedient instead of solving the problem, and in the process gaining a satisfied customer who will be spending $4,000 to $6,000 in August when my kitchen is remodeled. Of course, striving to have satisfied customers as well as developing customer loyalty appears to exist only in empty platitudes in practice they are foreign concepts to Best Buy.


So, tell me Allen, you tell me, what is Best Buy willing to do?

Posts: 7,689
Topics: 80
Kudos: 311
Blog Posts: 46
Solutions: 320
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Hi pushkart,

 

1. I thought I did address this by asking you to provide me with the make and model of the mount you had, and the make and model of the mount we sell you claim to be comparable. I was going to first make sure they truly were comparable, then see if these mounts could be mounted to two wall studs as determined to be necessary by our Home Theater Installer, and then reach out to the installer to find out why they felt the mount would not work for where you wanted it mounted.

 

2. Yes, the technician offered to sell you a mount that they believed would work where you requested to have the TV mounted. What I was saying was they did not say the mount you purchased would not work as a way for them to sell you a TV mount.

 

3. I completely agree with you on this point. In fact we should never mention returning a purchase as an option. If the customer requests a return then of course we do that if eligible. We should never offer it up as a solution as we are a retailer.

 

4. There should be many ways to get service from Best Buy. You can call 1-888-BestBuy, call 1-800-GeekSquad, call a local Best Buy store, go into a local Best Buy store, post to our Facebook page, Tweet at us, post here to our forums, or write a letter to us here at our corporate headquarters. It is correct that our operators are not to transfer calls to our Executive Resolutions Team, but they could transfer you to this team if you called them specifically asking to talk to one of our executives by name.

 

Now that the purchase has been refunded. What else can we specifically get done for you? I would be more than willing to do whatever is possible to get this resolved for you to your satisfaction.

 

Thanks,

Allan|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

[ Edited ]
  1. The note added by the GS tech indicates that installation must traverse two studs. The statement would on its face eliminates my mount as well as those similar mounts sold by BB as not appropriate for the intended application.

However, as you asked, my mount is a brand new never used: AVF Eco-Mount Model # EL404B-A

Multi Position Dual Arm TV Mount for 25 - 55 in. Flat Panel TVs. The mount is rated to 88 pounds.

{removed per forum guidelines}

 

  1. To resolve the issue, I:
  2. a) requested the GS tech provide the name and contact of his manager. He refused to provide any supervisory authority.
  3. b) spoke with the acting BB manager Saturday who endorsed the refund first decision of the Tech.
  4. c) visited the BB web site and noticed that BB sells full motion mounts that are for all intents and purposes identical to my mount. Noticing this I called back the BB acting manager who initially agreed that GS would install the mounts sold by BB, but walked back his admission when presented with the analogy I have reiterated in my correspondence.
  5. d) called the GS customer service number. The CSR while sympathetic would not escalate the call. She pointed that the GS customer service center is primarily concerned with scheduling. Furthermore, she could not provide the name of a GS manager, and if I wanted to know, I would need to visit the store to inquire.
  6. e) called the BB customer service number twice to initiate a complaint. No assistance was extended, and my attempts to escalate to a higher authority resulted in terminated calls.
  7. f) reviews were posted to BB and GS FaceBook pages with no response.

Throughout I have sought a response to resolve the issues that resulted in the failure to install my purchase, and the resulting need to cancel the transaction.

While over the preceding decades I have made purchases online with BB, this is my first purchase in a BB store in 20 years. Admittedly, my BB experience is limited. So fare with the exception of the in store Associate, at each turn, BB has demonstrated no interest is resolving my experience in any way favorable to me.  Sadly, my experience seems to be the normal conduct of BB, not the exception.

So again, what do you propose to resolve this case?

Posts: 7,689
Topics: 80
Kudos: 311
Blog Posts: 46
Solutions: 320
Registered: ‎09-29-2008

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

Hey pushkart,

 

If the mount you have and the similar mounts we sell are not able to traverse two studs, and your Home Theater installer determined the place you wanted the TV mounted required a mount that could traverse two studs, then the installer offering to sell you a mount that could traverse two studs was the correct and appropriate action by this Home Theater installer. Just because your home required a mount that could traverse two studs does not mean every TV and mounting location would require such a mount; that is why we sell the similar mounts for situations that do not require a mount to traverse two studs.

 

When you say acting Best Buy manager are you referring to a store manager? If so, what was the first name of this manager and what store do they work at? Once I have that information I will reach out to the person they report to in order to make sure we are not offering refunding a purchase unless the customer asks that of us.

 

Agents over 1-800-GeekSquad can do much more than just schedule appointments, but they of course don't have unlimited authority to get a customer what they are asking for. What were you specifically asking these Geek Squad agents to get done for you? They were right to not provide you the name of a Geek Squad manager as no employee of Best Buy is allowed to provide the first and last name of another employee or another employees contact information without that employee’s permission.

 

When calling 1-888-BestBuy the agents you spoke to should have been able to transfer your call to a supervisor, and no phone agent should ever purposefully terminate a phone call unless the customer is being abusive to them. Most often suddenly terminated calls are due to the line dropping the call accidentally.

 

You most definitely should have received a response from any review posted to the Best Buy and/or Geek Squad Facebook pages. In fact it is my team that responds to customers on these pages.

 

I would love to offer you resolution in this matter, but I would have no idea what to offer you as a resolution. Let me know what you specifically need from me to consider this resolved and I will work towards that goal.

 

Thanks,

Allan|Senior Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-17-2017

Re: Geek Squad Fail- and the imllication communicated.

The observation of one stud vs two studs is specious. The Tech did not make his pronouncement until looking at the assembly instructions included with my mount. Moreover, the observation fails to recognize that Best Buy in the opinion (which you find persuasive) of your expert, sells mounts that are not suited for the purpose for which they are designed. Had your Tech taken any effort to test the wall to determine if the stud is metal or wood, and if he determined that the stud might be metal, I would have accepted his opinion.  However, he made no effort to understand the construction of the wall (is it dry wall, plaster, or hardy board) as to the material, and calculate the carrying weight of the substrate. No, it was a simple look, and possibly the desire to not assemble my mount, in favor of selling me a product.

 

My first call occurred on Saturday 7/15. The relief/acting manager is (sounds like) Roger/or /Roget. I called the store where my purchase was made which is the North Federal Highway, Fort Lauderdale location.

 

I believe that my characterization of my conversations while perhaps paraphrased, remain fairly accurate.  Fortunately, I record my telephone calls, and will publish them for your benefit.

 

Sadly, it is you who has experience with cases such as my case, and in view of your experience, you cannot work or suggest a solution.  I have noticed in the forum when customers suggest a resolution, BB routinely rejects the suggestion even when BB is clearly wrong, (that is) in the view of the customer.  BB it seems is never at fault so, I will forgo suggesting a resolution.  Frankly, Akllab isn’t that your job?

 

I will muse that Amazon sells the Sony TV in question, and while it is $100.00 more, I can say that over the thousands of dollars, and hundreds of transactions with Amazon, I have had only one frustration inducing experience, and in comparison, the amount was inconsequential. Perhaps the soundest resolution is to realize that, at least in my view, Best Buy is not the store if you value service over price.

 

In closing, I would love to know how cases are refered to the ERT.