Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

I purchased several light switches from Best Buy a few months back.  I had some trouble connecting a few of them, but got them all working now.  However, the issue is all of sudden my lights are turning on randomly.  It mostly occurs late evenings/early mornings.  We notice when we wake up in middle of night they are turned on.  It's random days, time and differnt rooms (kitchen, foyer, front porch, living room).  Is this normal?

Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-30-2018

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

Hi.  It sounds like you may have a automated schedule set up on the light switch.  Open up the app and in bottom navigation you will see a selection option for "Devices" or "Schedules".  Tap on the "Schedules" section to edit any automated schedules.

You can turn them on or off from this page, or if you tap into the schedule you can edit the days and times it is active and what devices are attached to it.  Let us know if that fixes the issue.

 

Thanks for using Insignia products. 

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

Hi Chris. At first that is what I thought but I never had a schedule for the fan or kitchen. And I had already deleted the others ones prior to this happening. In addition, its random days. It’s has me boggled.
Insignia Product Specialist
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-30-2018

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

A couple of questions for you...

 

1. Are you using an Android device or iOS device?

2. Can you please send us a private message with the Serial number of your devices? Once this information is received we'd be able check the scheduling system in the back end for your switch.  You can find the serial number if you tap on the switch from the main landing page in the app, then tap on the little 'info i' in the navigation bar.  You're welcome to send me a private message with those details, and we'd be delighted to see that they're forwarded 

 

Thanks.

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-05-2011

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

Having exactly the same problem..

 

Plug turns on randomly. No schedules on the app, nor any automations that match via HomeKit. Sent an email with serial, but looks like a firmware bug. My Smart Plug is a NS-SP1XM8

 

I have a Smart Switch NS-CH1XIS8 and not happening there.

Highlighted
Posts: 5,354
Topics: 85
Kudos: 255
Solutions: 249
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

Hello su_A_ve,

 

Thank you so much for your patience while you waited for our response. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share with us. Can you please share if you’re still seeking assistance on this matter? We’d be happy to see how we might be able to assist you further if you are.

 

Respectfully,

 

Mariah

Insignia™ Support

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2018

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

I have the same problem, no scheduled on my iphone (i did create one and delted), but i think your server did not update it. Can you fix and confirm from our side? 

Posts: 5,354
Topics: 85
Kudos: 255
Solutions: 249
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Light Switches - turning lights on by itself

Good Afternoon vmedikon,

 

Thanks for joining our community to share that you’re experiencing a similar issue where a deleted schedule may still be in effect. I’d be happy to see how we can help you moving forward.

 

I’ve sent you a private message to collect the serial number of your Insignia Switch. You can check your private messages by ensuring you’re logged into your community profile then by selecting the blue envelope in the top right hand corner.

 

Respectfully,

 

Mariah

Insignia™ Support

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!