Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2018

Poor Customer Service

I Christmas shop early, and was just punished for it by the Geek Squad Rep I spoke with.  Ordered an Instapot-type appliance at the end of September and put it away for my mom for Christmas.  She opened it Christmas day, but didn't take it out of the box until last week.  She mentioned today that she loved it and "though she was worried it wouldn't work when she saw the dent," it works fine so far.  She didn't mention the dent before because  she didn't want me to be upset.  I had her send me a picture, and it looks like someone hit the thing with a bat. Wish I could attach it here.  When I called customer service, the woman wasn't particularly polite and just told me I was past the return date. 

 

Duh. First, I realize this; however, since the biggest gift season of the year just passed, most businesses understand this and allow some give in their policies.  Second, some sympathy for receiving a damaged product would've been nice, as would a polite tone of voice.  Third, since my mom lives in a rural area where there isn't a Best Buy, another solution was needed anyway.  I won't ask her to drive 2 hours to return the thing.   Because I've gotten very good customer service recently from Target and Amazon when issues with delivered items have arisen, this poor service stands out even more - especially the tone of voice.   I'm not a happy camper.   

 

 

Posts: 7,730
Topics: 950
Kudos: 585
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 229
Registered: ‎11-10-2008

Re: Poor Customer Service

Did you have the item shipped to her for Christmas?

***Please keep in mind that I am not employed by Best Buy and are just a regular forums Super User and an everyday shopper like you. If you find my posting helpful, please add kudos to it. Remember to mark answered questions as solved if something helped you to speed up the answer queue for other customers***
Posts: 4,997
Topics: 262
Kudos: 205
Blog Posts: 11
Solutions: 245
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: Poor Customer Service

[ Edited ]

Hello, jcwhitn, and welcome to the forum,

 

As much as I’d like to claim otherwise, I’m very much the “last minute shopper” in that I’m the one frantically going store to store on Christmas Eve trying to find that perfect gift. It sounds like you were ahead of the curve though, so I’m sorry to hear that the appliance you purchased for your mother arrived in such a regrettable state. I’m sure this was the last thing you were expecting when preparing for the holiday season!

 

Because we realize customers like to buy ahead of time to avoid the holiday rush, we typically extend our Return and Exchange Promise (R&E) to accommodate those purchases. This year, most purchases made on or after October 29, 2017 through December 30, 2017 were granted an extension to our standard R&E in that customers have until January 14, 2018 to process a return or exchange for whatever reason. Any purchase made prior to these dates though are regrettably ineligible for this extension. I truly apologize for any frustration this may cause, particularly if we were less than respectful when addressing your concerns at the time of your call.

 

I realize this may not be the answer you were hoping for; however, please don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any further questions regarding this.

 

Sincerely,

Alexandra|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2018

Re: Poor Customer Service

I appreciate the response.  The customer service rep's response would've been more favorably received if she had said something like, I'm sorry, but.....  

 

I understand the policy, though it's a bit frustrating to think I probably could've walked into a store with the cooker, said it was a gift to me, and exchanged it.  Anyway, thanks again for responding cordially.

Highlighted
Posts: 4,997
Topics: 262
Kudos: 205
Blog Posts: 11
Solutions: 245
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: Poor Customer Service

Hello jcwhitn,

 

You are most welcome!

 

I did want to clarify something for you though. Gift receipts, while handy in that they provide anonymity, are tied to the original purchase itself. This means that if your mother (or yourself) presented one to her local store, we wouldn't have been able to offer a return or exchange either if the purchase was made back in September.

 

Thank you,

Alexandra|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!