Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2017

Awful experience - false information provided to me

On 04/07/17 I purchased a washer at Best Buy in Long Island City, NY. I was promised to have it delivered on 4/14/17. Between 4/07 and 4/14 I received two phone calls from Best Buy confirming that the washer would be delivered on 4/14, as promised. On 04/14 morning I received a call from the delivery person stating that they were very confused because they were scheduled to deliver a washer to my apartment, but they actually have nothing to deliver. Soon I received another phone call from the supervisor of this person, who said that in the system she had access to my washer was on backorder and would not be delivered on the promised day. I was advised to get in touch with Best Buy directly to find out what’s the issue.
I contacted Best Buy customer service immediately where I was transferred to/had to speak with 5 different representatives and the whole call lasted 30 minutes. I had to fill in on my case 3 reps I spoke with, because they were not relaying information to each other when transferring. Only when I asked specifically how many times I would have to repeat myself again, they started to do so. I was told that my washer was coming from some special warehouse and would not be available until the end of April (!). Nobody told me about this when I made the purchase. Had I known about the long waiting time, I would have gone to your competitor right away - the washer is available with many other merchants for the same price.
I worked from home today (the scheduled delivery day) specifically to collect the washer.
It turned out the delivery date was a scam - a bait and switch just to get our money. Best Buy has been managing our money for the past week and gaining interest on it. Providing the customer with false and misleading information, not fulfilling your promises, and not bothering to notify the customer about the delay is an unethical practice.
Best Buy unprofessional customer service practice was harmful not only to us, but also to your delivery partner, who called me because they didn't know what to do and couldn't contact Best Buy themselves. If not for the phone call from the delivery person, we would still be waiting for the washer wondering what’s going on.
I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau. An absolute awful experience - I wasted so much time and nerves waiting/or dealing with this order.
Posts: 2,786
Topics: 49
Kudos: 204
Solutions: 120
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Awful experience - false information provided to me

[ Edited ]

Greatings Katka,

 

Welcome to the Best Buy Support Online Forum Community! 

 

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your washer delivery experience. It’s discouraging to learn that your purchase may be backordered, and you may not have been notified of that change prior to your delivery date. I apologize for any frustration your order may have caused you. 

 

Typically when an item is officially on backorder you’d be provided an email letting you know of that change. That email notification would also include the options to either keep your order, or cancel it given that new information. You’re more than welcome to check our Backorders Help Guide.

 

I’d be happy to review your purchase to see how I may able to assist you, or shed light on this matter further. Can you please send me a private message with your order number? Using the details you provided upon joining our community I wasn’t able to locate it. You can send me a private message by choosing the option to do so next my name at the bottom.

 

Respectfully,

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-14-2017

Re: Awful experience - false information provided to me

I really wonder how you can assist me now that the order has already been cancelled, I asked for a refund, and ordered the washer with another merchant? When I contacted the phone Customer Service I was told that if I don't want to wait several weeks for the washer, I can cancel my order - that's the only solution I've been offered.
Your rather unhelpful response is full of "ifs" and speculation, so let me restate the facts, in case I wasn't clear in my original post:
- I was never told about the possibility of backorder and that I could wait several weeks for the washer when I made the purchase in store. Had I known about this, I would turn around and politely said: no thank you, I'm gonna order/buy somewhere else, because I need this asap. It so happens that Best Buy is not the only merchant in NYC.
- I was NOT notified of any change prior to delivery date.
- I received two phone calls CONFIRMING the delivery date, the second one two days prior to the delivery date.
- I did NOT receive any e-mail notification about the change with the option to keep or cancel the order, therefore I'm not interested in what you "typically" do in a situation like this, because in my case your "typical" practice didn't occure. Was it a negligence, omission, or it's not really what you typically do?
My post is to serve as a WARNING to other customers who consider buying appliances at Best Buy. I went through the posts in this forum and found out that it's a common practice on your part - to fail to deliver on your promises. Oh how I wish I had done a better research about your company prior to going to your store - I would have saved myself plenty of time and frustration. Please know that you've lost a customer and I'll be spreading this unpleasant experience and my story far and wide.
Posts: 2,786
Topics: 49
Kudos: 204
Solutions: 120
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: Awful experience - false information provided to me

Good Afternoon Katka,

 

Thank you for providing your order number privately so I could take a peek into your order for you to provide some more details about the delays you were told about last minute. I sincerely apologize for the lack information you may have been provided about your purchase.

 

While reviewing your purchase I noticed the GE Spacemaker 2.6 Cu. Ft washer you purchased is a special order item. Special Order items tend to have a 6 week delay for delivery as we’d need to work with manufacturer to get this item transferred into our inventory. Normally items that are special ordered the delivery date isn’t set up until we’ve secured the unit. I apologize that the individual who assisted you with the purchase in-store didn’t provide you this information. Or set realistic expectations about your purchase with you.

 

On your behalf, I’ll be reaching out your local Long Island Best Buy to request that the training opportunities that may be present are addressed. 

 

Respectfully,

Mariah

Mariah|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!