Add Product

Search Results:

Visitor

Ubuntu on NS-P11W7100

I just wanted to share my experiences and see if I can find someone to help me to complete this project.

To start off with, I'm a relative newb.  I run Ubuntu Linux on my desktop, but I have a Windows computer, as well.  Because of that, I've seen how fast Xubuntu works and how...not fast...Windows works.  After playing with the Insignia tablet for a while, I really grew sick of how slow and bloated it felt.  (Let the Windows fan boys start their hating!)  I couldn't turn off enough features to make the system feel responsive enough to want to use.  Every time Windows updated, I got a "low disk space" error.  So, I decided to replace it.

Let the journey begin...

To start out, I needed to get a USB drive to function.  The Insignia Tablet has a 32-Bit UEFI, but a 64-Bit processor.  What this means is that you can't just grab your favorite Linux distro and install it.  Aftera bunch of attempts using some very good guides, I stumbled across the easiest thing ever:  

http://linuxiumcomau.blogspot.com/2017/06/customizing-ubuntu-isos-documentation.html

Go here and download isorespin.sh.  Then, grab your favorite Linux Distro - 64-Bit too! - and a flash drive.  Follow the steps on the site and, when you run isorespin, choose the "Atom Processor" additions.  When the program is done, you'll have a spiffy new drive ready to install your favorite distro without all the messing around that you have to do with Grub2.   

I slapped in a 128 GB microSD card for my /home folder and booted up the new drive.  After installing the distro, I rebooted and *poof* I was all set...mostly.

I am running Xubuntu 18.04 with the 4.15.0-22-generic kernel.  At this point, almost everything I needed was running.  The items I was missing included:

• Camera
  • Screen Rotation
  • Sound (CHTRT5645)
  • Touch Screen