Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
Valued Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-20-2011

what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

couldn't find a clear price on the web site

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,251
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

Your setup the f750 along with the rear backup camera is a stellar setup. The front camera should run you $49.99 or the gps installation sku, and depending on the vehicle and location the back camera should also be the same.

Sometimes there may be an additional charge or lesser charge depending on how much time it would take to run that backup camera to the back window. The extra hardwiring cable, you should not be charged extra for, and if the back window is easily accessible then sometimes I will charge a custom labor sku of $24.99.

Trucks and cars usually will get the custom labor sku and SUVs with running the camera through the back hatch usually have the additional $49.99, (the same charge as 2 custom labor skus for 30 min of work).

Our sku sheets are ever changing and I think right now the gps hardwire sku is more commonly used since it is close to the same setup and installation. There should be a new sku sheet rolling out and I would be surprised if dash cameras are not put on there, since they are really growing in popularity.

Hope this helps you out!
I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Valued Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-20-2011

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

I can run all the wires, only thing I am sketchy about is the taping of the fuses, still need to pick up the mini fuse taps and already know which two fuses I will be taping,  just need someone that knows how to do it to verify if I am doing it right.  was asking for the price as a back up plan if I can't get a little info.  think I might be ok though, thanks for the information none the less Smiley Happy 

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,251
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

Unfortunatley tapping into a fuse box would get any of our autotechs on a warning because it is not a "proper connection" for our lifetime labor warranty.  I know that they exist honestly never used one, and it is much easier to find a wire to military splice and solder IMO.  I don't want to waste your time by driving to a shop to have that question as that wouldn't be the way that we install here, unfortunately.  We do have all the resources available to us to locate retained accessories and other switched 12+ wires, which I would encourage, but again I have seen far far worse than a fuse tap. 

 

Please know that I am not judging you, but more guiding you to a better way to interface your connections.  A multimeter is always a great tool for testing wires and I couldn't live without one.  They are super cheap and can allow the installation to go much faster, and look cleaner without wires going to the front of your fuse box.  Best of luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Valued Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-20-2011

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

the reason I am doing it with the tap is because it is the easiest way to reverses it if I would ever sell the car and want to install it in another vehicle.  I know of many that have done it this way with no issue but those people don't live near me.  

Valued Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-20-2011

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

I have run all the wires and have the camera working perfectly except one thing, can't get it to switch to Park mode.  No way a tech could look at is and give me an idea or complete it?  

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,251
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

The car will have to be in the off position and should automatically kick on if the wires were connected appropriately.  Please make sure the fused line is connected to a constant wire, the wire colors are flip-flopped from standard colors, and this could be causing the issue.  Verify that connection is appropriate, and if you still need further assistance, an Autotech in store could help you get this up and running.  The standard custom labor charge is $24.99 per 1/4 hour, but the tech should be able to provide you a closer quote by taking a peek, but again as I stated before, they may have to charge for a full installation if the connections were done as you previously stated.

 

We have to make sure the connections solid through and through so that we can warranty it for a lifetime, and this may require a complete re-wire, but the tech should be more than willing to provide you with all information and as close to accurate of quotes when they see the work.  I do apologize if this wasn't the news you were hoping to hear, but it is my hopes that you can understand that we have to connect in certain ways to uphold MECP standards throughout all the vehicles we work on for our jobs, and our customers cars safety!  

 

Thanks again for writing with the community and don't hesitate to schedule your appointment anytime! Best of luck!

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Valued Member
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-20-2011

Re: what does Best Buy charge for dual Dash cam install?

thanks for your response, did some research on line and discoverd that Thinkware made some of there hardwire kits with the wires colors reversed, when I recieved mine it didn't have the wires labeled so I went to the Thinkware site forum and found a tech post on there that said what the colors were for what and I wrote that down and used it a a templet to connect the fuse taps.  didn't even notice the wire with the inline was connected to the switched fuse.  once I read that in your post it got me thinking and surfing the net.  simply switched the fuses out of one to the other and vice versa, making sure the one with the inline fuse was goint to the constant power and voila all is good Smiley Happy  thanks for the heads up !!!