Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

I've already had viper 5706v. I want to install this on my car. Can you tell me how much for installing with additional hardware including such as interface module, wires, etc... Especially, i don't want to install siren or alarm because i think it's available on my car. Also, i want to know which one between Module idatalink ADL-ALCA and module Expresskit DB-ALL2 fit for my car???

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

JasonTR:

 

Thanks for siginging up and asking such a great question, and im glad i am able to assist you with this question. So your vehicle being a 2006 toyota highlander, the bypass modules *(alca and dball2) will both work for your vehicle.  With that said, all that both of those modules will be doing is the Transponder bypass (simulate the chipped key) during the starting process, since we are doing it remotely with the viper. So either one is a great module to use for your vehicle, and both are using the same wiring also, so don't worry to much about those, the installer will pick and choose, unless you have a preference.

 

Since you already purchased the viper 5706v, i have to ask if it was purchased through Best Buy.  Best Buy and directed electronics have a very close partnership, that includes the installation from our Autotechs in-store.  They package out the installation when you buy the product because they WANT you to have it professionally installed.  Now when you purchase a unit from online, other than best buy there is no installation included, and unfortunately there will be no warranty from the manufacturer.  the pop up on their website is their legal disclaimer which is found here:

http://xpresskit.com/default.aspx

 

Now don't think that just because you didn't buy it from us that we aren't going to treat your car as if it were our own.  The Autotechs do not care where you get it and will install it the same as a unit that is purchased from our stores, but just know that they will have to charge you the standard installation costs for your Viper 5706V.  your car is also a little pricey for additional vehicle parts and installation because of the way that Toyota/Lexus wired up their vehicles during these years, but here is the breakdown of what you would be looking at. 

 

Materials Charge $5.00

Relay/s (2)          $25.98 (one for auto headlights, and also 1 for a second starter wire)

ALCA/Dball2       $99.99 (bypass module/s)

451M                   $9.99 (this is for locks that will need to be wired up in the passenger kickpanel)

FAD                     $39.99 (Factory alarm disarm Installation

Door lock labor    $39.99 (this is for the wiring tech doc in the passenger kick panel)

Module labor        $39.99 (for bypass modules)

Remote start security installation $199.99 *(this is only if you didn't buy from best buy)

Total: 470.91 before tax

 

all the $39.99 charges will show up as a "security standard add-on" so don't be surprised when you see 3 of them on your receipt, no you were not charged 3 times for the same product, but more they are the same price for 3 different vehicle specific installations. I really hope that this helps you out, and you should want to have our security system installed also, the siren is nice to have to act as a method to help let others know that your car is in trouble, and also our security sensors monitor all doors, trunk, and hood, so if any of those happen to be opened up, your alarm will go off.  the additional benefit of our security systems will offer offer a vehicle shock sensor in the box, this will have 2 stages the first stage to warn, and if hit hard enough will enter stage 2 with an instant alarm no warning chirps.  The starter kill is also pretty great part of the security system which will not allow your car to start if the alarm is going off, but please know that there is an override that would require your physical key and a push button sequence, don't hesitate to ask our installers what that is, for the cases of losing remotes or batteries dying. 

 

you can eliminate the $200 if it was purchased by a best buy.  Sorry for the long read, but i really hope that this gets you in the right direction.  The bays are pretty swamped right now also being the busy time of year for us, so please have a couple dates in mind when you call to schedule your appointmet because you can be out quite a few days to weeks.  Thanks again for taking the time to reach out to us, and a moderator should be by within the next few days to assist you with this if you need further assistance, otherwise i would be more than happy to continue to help you via this thread!  let me know if you need anything else, and have a great night!

 

 

 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

sorry forgot to add that the FAD is only disarming the factory alarm "during" the start sequence, right after that it will be back active.  sorry i know that was one of your big concerns, but adding the 5706v security it will stay active for you when your factory doesn't. 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

thank you for helping, I'm still confusing between security in my car and security in the product. My car has been available security door and do i need to install another security from the product??Also, i want to know after i install viper 5706v on my car, do i need to use original key toyota to start system? what should i do if i lost a remote viper???

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

All great questions and i will hopefully answer your great questions in this post.
First factory security systems can be tested by "arming" the factory alarm (usually by locking the door and waiting 1-5 minutes). Roll down your window before doing this test and you can see if you truly have a factory alarm. Most people come in thinking they have factory security systems but really do not so here is one way you can test out your factory setup.
Step 1 roll down window,
Step 2 arm the factory alarm and wait 1-5 min
Step 3 reach inside and unlock your drivers door and open the door with the inside handle
Step 4 listen for an alarm

Did one go off? If not your not alone, many car manufacturers will put flashing security lights on the dash, instrument cluster, top of dashes, just to name a few common places. These lights usually indicate either a factory security system or the vehicles "immobilizer" (the chipped key will disarm this immobilizer and allow the car to start only of it sees the correct "chipped" key. These misleading flashing lights can confuse many people into thinking they have a security system with the vehicle.

If the alarm did go off then what an autotech must do is disarm it during the remote start sequence. The bypass modules (alca or dball) will simulate that chipped key and allow the car to start remotely, but if the autotech doesnt disarm that alarm (FAD $39.99) the alarm will go off immediately after it starts because your car sees the key with the bypass, but fails to know why or how you started it without unlocking or disarming its alarm.

Most people are comfortable with just having that alarm, but the reason why i like the after market alarms, and especially the ones like the viper 5706v that have the lcd screen. That screen will show you many things and alert you of many things also. Here is a quick list:
Car running or not
Car locked or unlocked
Time left remaining before the remote start shuts down
Any security triggers that were set off or open such as doors, hood, trunk
Shock sensor alerts if someone just hits your car
Starter kill if your alarm is going off your car will not start

All this in the palm of your hand in a beautiful easy to read lcd screen display up to a 1 mile range also! So instead of wondering if your car is safe and relying on your cars honking of the horn (factory alarm). You can see exactly what is going on in any event that might arise that set off your alarm, and also know that your siren will act as a second deterrent if you are further away. Pretty much you add piece of mind to your car while away from it, instead of wondering if its ok, you can just look at the screen and know.

You will always need to have the original key to perform the key take over sequence. If the key is not detected physically after it is remote started right when you hit the brake it will shut down. This is because the remote start will only start the car from a distance but if someone trys to hop in and steal it without turning the key in the cylinder while its remote started it will shut down once the brake is pressed. They key is vital in allowing you to drive off and without it, the car will just shut down when you go to shift out of gear (because you need to hit the brake to shift out of gear).

As far as losing the remotes, well hopefully it is disarmed, or you know the sequence to disarm it (key required). If it is disarmed then your car works the exact same as it did before you had the viper installed. I have many customers who were sold a vehicle with an aftermarket remote start, security system, or a combination (like the 5706v) but they were never given the remotes and are surprised to hear that one was even in there.

Know that your car will act the same as it did before the installation, and that nothing has changed besides the additional security, peace of mind, range of your factory keyless entry, and lets not forget the ability to remotely start your vehicle from a mile away!!

I hope this helps clarify, sorry for the massive wall of text, and should u need better clarification, please do not hesitate to let me know. You can also call your local installation bay to speak with an installer to help clarify the parts im not able to in writing. Sometimes these questions are easier talking to an autotech to really grasp what im trying to say above. Take care and keep us posted!
I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

I'm so happy because of your enthusiasm. I've checked my car and it has already had a security system. That means i don't need to get more security from the product. I still have a question about that is what about the smartstart. I mean just push to start system. Do I need add that functions for my car and how much for that???

Also, I undecided between JVC KW-V31BT and JVC KW-V51BT. Which one is fit and best for my car??? Because i want to install it on my car. The first one is 6'1 inch and the second one is 7''icnh. Can you give me some advice about that and how much for installing that including addtional hardware??? Thank you so much

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

I forgot to add something here. My car is Toyota Highlander 2005 V6 Limited
Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

Jason thanks for reaching out! A 2005 might indeed change some things on that quote and i will have to check on it when i get to work in the morning. Alot of my customers come to me with these kinds of questions all the time so really its all in a days work, just alot more typing haha!

The viper smart start is a free application that you can download onto a smart phone and with a subscription rate of anywhere between 60-100 dollars a year, you would be able to start your car wherever you have cell phone signal. On the fliers it does show a push to start button, but that is just a picture of the button that you will press in the application, and you are not physically changing anything with your car. You will still have the key, and you will still need the key to do the takeover after it is remotely started. The VSS module is just an add-on piece that piggy backs their other remote starts, for customers looking for the ultimate range. More can be found if you visit my sticky thread located here: http://forums.bestbuy.com/t5/Car-Marine-GPS/Remote-Start-Keyless-Entry-and-Security-System-Questions...

As far as the different units there really isnt much differences besides what you already found out. Bigger screens usually will cost a bit more, in general, and IMO have a much cleaner look when completed. With that said the smaller screen 31bt will have all the same option BUT will include a remote and also an hdmi on the back for smart phone capabilites beyond bluetooth.

A side note with those jvcs is that u can literally touch the screen and make a circle clockwise or counter clockwise to turn up and down the volume, and swipes left and right to skip tracks left and right. Thats a feature that drives me bonkers because im a clean freak especially with my car and 7" display indash, but i have yet to give a demo to a customer that didnt find that cool or atleast interesting.

Ill check on your parts tomorrow for you so keep an eye out for a new post. Also did you buy that 5706v from best buy? You can save alot of money if you are wanting just remote start keyless, and even more if you are just looking at strictly remote start. Have a great night!
I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!
New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-28-2016

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

Thanks a lot. As your knowledge, can you give me some sugguestions about stereo on my car. I want to install one of them that included audio perfect like "SONY, JBL,etc...", HDMI/MHL, touchscreen smooth, navigation or not, bluetooth, 7EQ & more,...Because i've already had JBL premium on my car. That was awesome. I need a headunit that has more power sound to issue for that.

Geek Squad Agent
Posts: 3,205
Registered: ‎03-20-2012

Re: viper 4202 remote start for toyota highlander

JasonTr,

    Since your vehicle has the JBL and also is the Limited, im going to assume that it has the navigation.  If this is the jbl w/navigation, unfortunately there is NO FIT, meaning no dash kit exists to allow you to switch out that head unit.  Now that isn't to say that you cannot add on to that system, while keeping your factory head unit.  I would say that on an average with all these new cars coming out, and dash kits being more and more expensive because of all the integration of the factory equipment, that many of my customers choose to leave the radio that came with the car and add on.

 

If you are wanting to install an amp and subwoofer you can do so by using what is called a line output convertor at 14.99 with an install of 24.99 that will show up on the receipt as a "custom labor per 1/4."  you can also increase the sound of your speakers by replacing them and adding in a 4 channel amplifier, and by doing so will increase the Highs, Mids, and Lows even further.  I wish i had better news for you with that vehicle, but from all the resources that we have, it does show that you vehicle does not have a proper mounting kits to support a new radio. 

I am a CAR Geek Squad Autotech, but the views that I post are my own and not that of Best Buy.
***Know that I am not able to issue official responses and that my posts are only here to help before an official response is offered by a Best Buy Social Media Specialist***
Was the question answered click solution and kudos the post?!