Add Product

Search Results:

Camera help

I am new to cameras but want to get in to photography. Would I be a better idea to get a DSLR or a point and shoot camera? Also if I were to get a DSLR Would a Canon Rebel T5 or a Canon Rebel SL1 be a better camera? And if I go towards a point and shoot camera would the Nikon coolpix L840 or the Canon Powershot SX530?
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: Camera help

Thoughts....

• what is your budget?  DSLR is preferred, but when you add up the body, lenses and likely a flash is it still in your budget.
  • a point 'n shoot can do basic photography.... like with your phone.  A larger sensor DSLR will do better bokeh and yield better image quality.... especially in low light.
  • have you considered what type of photography you might want to specialize in?  Landscape?  Weddings?  Macro?  People?  For a DSLR, you need to invest in different lenses.
  • Most DSLR come with a basic 18-55mm lens.  What other lenses are you planning to add?  Check out the prices for 55-200mm, 18-200mm, and the f/2.8 lenses.
  • Nikon makes great DSLR's too.  D3300 for entry level, D7200 and the newly announced D500 for prosumers.
  • There are EVIL or Mirrorless cameras like the Sony A6000.  It offers DSLR abilities with less bulk.
  • are you considering a class?  I picked up a lot from affordable night school classes to get the most value from my camera.  Talk to the instructor what they recommend too.
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVQiN568izQ&hd=1
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RTh9K0kUDo
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XWRm-oR2s8
Trusted Contributor

Personally in my opinion in almost all situations a DSLR is going to be the bettter choice.  However, the learning curve is much higher.  Granted you can put it in auto mode and treat it as a point and shoot.

Personally you cannot go wrong with any of the Canon Rebel or Nikon DSLR Cameras