03-17-2012 11:10 AM
I recieved the following text message on my phone:
You are selected to secret shop at BestBuy with $1000 gift card. GoTo http:/bestbuygiftoffer.com/ & Enter Code: xxxx Invite Code valid 24hrs.
It didn't seem legit, although they are using what appears to be the BestBuy logo on their site. Is the site affiliated with BestBuy at all?
03-17-2012 11:50 AM
Welcome to the Best Buy Community Forums.
There seems to be a lot of scams involving text messages and Best Buy lately. My advice would be similar to the old saying, "If it sounds too good to be true...it probably is not legitimate and not approved of or endorsed by Best Buy."
03-17-2012 02:02 PM
Yup, it's a scam. Best Buy is aware of it and they are working at getting them to stop, but over the internet this is a hard thing to do due to anyonminity (I hope I spelled that right).
03-17-2012 03:55 PM
03-19-2012 01:33 PM
Hi matthewhaubrich,
Just wanted to chime in and say that this is a scam and not affiliate with Best Buy in anyway. Thank you for letting us know, and it seems like there have been a lot of these floating around. Do not put or send any personal information via text to this sender, as it could potentially harm you.
Thanks again and if you have other questions, let me know.
Regards,
