Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
smithe
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2011
Accepted Solution

Text scam

I received a text stating I was randomly selected for a $1000 gift card from Best Buy and all I need to do is log onto a website.  I assume this is a scam but you never know.  Is this a scam?

Please use plain text.
DanK
Posts: 2,258
Topics: 29
Kudos: 163
Solutions: 145
Registered: ‎10-14-2010

Re: Text scam

Yup, scam.
________________________________________

Dan K. | Connectivity Business Group
Any opinions expressed in this post are those of
the author and do not represent Best Buy Co., Inc.
Please use plain text.
New Member
smithe
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2011

Re: Text scam

Thanks Dan.  I assumed it was but you never know.  I have never won anything in my life time so why would I start now right?  ha

Please use plain text.
CrystalWoW
Posts: 10,080
Topics: 300
Kudos: 792
Solutions: 598
Registered: ‎02-04-2009

Re: Text scam

Yep.

Crystal
Superuser
Forum Guidelines | Terms & Conditions | Community Guidelines | What is a Superuser?
*Remember to mark your questions solved and click the star to give kudos to show your thanks!*
While I used to be a Best Buy Employee, I no longer have any affiliation with Best Buy.
My opinions do not in any way shape or form represent Best Buy's Official decisions.
Please use plain text.
New Member
edtheearl
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Text scam

FYI, It just happened to me within an hour of filling out a survey from Best Buy. Glad I thought to check here first. 

 

The Best Buy.com geeks need to up their game.  I certainly will think twice about responding to a survey now.

 
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
hydrogenwv
Posts: 2,413
Registered: ‎01-26-2011

Re: Text scam

I'm not sure what Best Buy can do in this case to make the texts stop. They aren't sending hte texts, it'd likely be difficult to determine who is, and even if they do find out, then what? Possibly a cease & desist letter or some legal action, but that will take months... all the while, these cats can still do the same thing.

 

  And, let's assume they get shut down. What's stopping them from switching websites and phone numbers and doing the same thing again?

 

Be skeptical of anything that sounds too good to be true. Watch out for website addresses, as well. If it says BestBuy.com in the text and doesn't direct to a BestBuy.com website, assume it's a scam. Also, remember that a legit survey will not (rarely, I should say) ask for any truly identifying information.

 

It's a crappy situation, but you can't expect everyone else to protect you. You have to protect yourself.

Please use plain text.
New Member
edtheearl
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2012

Re: Text scam

I don't expect them to protect me from random scams. But, I believe someone is plugged into Best Buy's web activities. Its odd that I received the text about 3 hours after I completed a survey they sent to me. I'd like to know what % of these scams are on people who interact with Best Buy on the web.
Please use plain text.
DanK
Posts: 2,258
Topics: 29
Kudos: 163
Solutions: 145
Registered: ‎10-14-2010

Re: Text scam

I doubt it. I just received one from "Walmart" a few hours ago. There's really nothing that can be done to stop these, just remember if it's too good to be true it probably isn't legit.
________________________________________

Dan K. | Connectivity Business Group
Any opinions expressed in this post are those of
the author and do not represent Best Buy Co., Inc.
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
hydrogenwv
Posts: 2,413
Registered: ‎01-26-2011

Re: Text scam

Best Buy doesn't have my current mobile phone number, and I still got one from Best Buy.

Please use plain text.
New Member
fidke
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-15-2012

Re: Text scam

I just got a text from 310-956-0863 claiming I won a $1000 gift card. The message tells you to go to this site prizebestbuy.com. I looked up the whois for the site and it's owned by some guy in China:

 

Domain Name.......... prizebestbuy.com
  Creation Date........ 2012-04-10 18:24:44
  Registration Date.... 2012-04-10 18:24:44
  Expiry Date.......... 2013-04-10 18:24:44
  Organisation Name.... liu wenge
  Organisation Address. jiefanglu344hao
  Organisation Address.
  Organisation Address. wuhan
  Organisation Address. 424000
  Organisation Address. HB
  Organisation Address. CN

 

Admin Name........... liuwenge
  Admin Address........ jiefanglu344hao
  Admin Address........
  Admin Address........ wuhan
  Admin Address........ 424000
  Admin Address........ HB
  Admin Address........ CN
  Admin Email.......... 
  Admin Phone.......... +86.278564521
  Admin Fax............ +86.278564521

 

Can't we do anything about these scammers??

Please use plain text.