02-21-2012 12:26 AM
I hope I'm not the only one, but lately, I have been getting forwarded to Appbundler.com (Don't go there, it's a malware website trying to infect your computer) from Best Buy's website. There aren't any specific pages on Best Buy's website that link to it or forward you to the site, but it happens from time to time. I think it might be from that survey popup that comes up from time to time asking you to take a survey. I'm not 100% sure it's coming from there, but the website devs might want to get on this.
02-23-2012 06:24 PM
Yeah, there have been a lot of issues and they can't seem to fix them, or just don't feel like fixing them. It's been awhile and the site still has issues.
02-24-2012 10:32 AM
My guess would be that they are intentionally there, and placed by BBY itself. (Really a web adminstrator can't fix where links on their own site redirect to?) so that the PC is infected, and then TREND Titanium flags it as a virus, which it turn makes you take laptop/desktop into Best Buy for a $99 virus scan/removal.
The most recent report of this was almost 2 weeks ago now in this thread post, and per Justin-BBY the web team was notified on 2/13 to fix the issue.
But then again, this is the same company who can't even secure it's own wireless network in it's store(s), and they get hacked, which results in porn getting displaed on the in-store TV's like in the story(s) below:
http://www2.wspa.com/news/2012/feb/20/porn-display
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/22/porn-best
02-24-2012 01:26 PM
Your tin foil hat is showing, tiggus.
02-24-2012 01:57 PM
hydrogenwv wrote:Your tin foil hat is showing, tiggus.
Whatever that means...the facts speak for themselves.
1.) Justin-BBY stated on 2/13 and 2/14 that the Online team was notified of the issue, and he'd be posting any other updates he has (none since, SHOCKER) and several other people report having the same issue.
2.) Best Buy admitted in their own press released statement that their in-store wireless network were compromised, and as a result, pornographic images were displayed on TV's in their stores.
02-25-2012 08:13 AM
02-27-2012 10:02 AM
Mbrguy wrote:
What facts tiggus? The fact that you obviously don't understand how the Internet works an how malware on your computer can Misdirect you to sites of the malware creators choosing.
Best Buy's website has issues, it already has been admitted to by Customer Service Techs over the phone and on here. There is no malware on my computer. When surfing the website, you can be on a page for a minute and all of a sudden it goes to
Trying to get you to install XvidSetup.exe (308 KB) from origin-ics.fivemillionfriends.com
and when you put the cursor on the page it shows the following address
http://install.freedownloadsoft.net/installer/zcdo
It's not just a few cases of this issue, it's been reported on other websites also. Best Buy needs to quit ignoring the issue and fix it.
02-27-2012 11:41 AM
02-27-2012 04:26 PM
02-27-2012 04:59 PM
Mbrguy wrote:
If darkrider has malware on his pc that is redirecting him to other sites, there is NOTHING that Best Buy can do. Whether you think Best Buy cares or not, they still have ZERO control over this do there would be nothing that the IT dept would be able I do. As an IT person I figured that you would have understood this.
I am having the issue also and I have ZERO, YES ZERO malware on my computer, so it is something that BEST BUY NEEDS TO FIX!.
I guess you have a hard time comprehending that it isn't just one person having this issue.
I swear, these forums need to REVOKE the "SUPER" title on some of these users seeing they don't deserve it!
