Add Product

Search Results:

Reply
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

So disappointed

I purchased a Samsung 4K Smart TV this week and needed a bracket.  The store had it for sale for $89.99.  Home Depot and Amazon had the exact same bracket for $52.  The Best Buy version's model number starts with a "B", which makes it proprietary to Best Buy.  This prevents customers from being able to price match other stores.

 

The Home Depot and Amazon models had slightly different model numbers.   Having worked in retail, I understand the game here - to prevent people from being able to price match.

 

I called Sanus while in the store and they confirmed all of these brackets are exactly the same, and that Best Buy changes the model number for their store.

 

I know the policy is to match items with exactly the same numbers but it would have been appropriate for the store to match the price, having confirmed with Sanus that is was indeed the exact same item.

 

I purchased a 70" Sony 4K 3D TV at Best Buy, as well as a Samsung 60" 4K plus the Samsung I bought earlier this week.  The TV's totaled upwards of $10K.

 

I refused, due to the cheesy game with the model numbers, to pay $40 extra for the exact item and walked out of the store.  So, by saving $40 Best Buy has lost a customer for life.  I will be doing future shopping at other stores.  That's too bad because in the last 5+ years Best Buy had really upped its game.

 

Very poor form.

 

 

 

 

Posts: 1,139
Topics: 26
Kudos: 104
Blog Posts: 1
Solutions: 55
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

Re: So disappointed

Greetings nanci322-

 

After finding a bracket that two other competitors were showing at a lower price than the Best Buy version, we can understand why you would want to take advantage of our Price Match Guarantee in this circumstance.  Thank you for joining the Best Buy forums to share with us your feedback.

 

With that said, our policy does state: Our Price Match Guarantee covers new items (excludes clearance and open-box items). One price match per identical item, per customer, at the current pre-tax price available to all customers is allowed.  Having a different UPC does mean there is a difference in the unit, even if the functionalities or cosmetics are similar, making this item not eligible for a price match.  

 

We hope there is a time later on down the way where you can take advantage of a great offer being promoted online or in the store, to allow us another opportunity to make this up to you.  Until that time if you need anything else, just be sure to reply!

 

Sincerely,

JJ|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

Re: So disappointed

I understand the policy and its purpose in making it impossible to price match.  Per the manufacturer, it is an IDENTICAL item, so clearly it was private labeled to prevent price matching.

 

The manufacturer confirmed this while I was at the store and the employee/manager could have spoken with them had they wished to.

 

I totally comprehend the policy.  I'm just saying it's a cheesy way to keep the consumer from getting the best deal. Definitely not the "best buy", that's for sure.

 

And to reiterate, it was almost $40 more than at Home Depot on the exact same item that was priced at your store for $89.99.  Home Depot was $52 and change.   That's usury, in my opinion.  I could see $10 more, maybe $20 but a markup of that amount is really a rip-off. There's absolutely no reason for it.  

 

 

 

 

Posts: 1,139
Topics: 26
Kudos: 104
Blog Posts: 1
Solutions: 55
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

Re: So disappointed

Greetings nanci322-

 

We’re sorry you feel this way about our price matches, but we can assure you we have this guarantee in place to save many customers a lot of money for the valid price matches.  I would have to say again that even a color change would make the barcode or model number different, even if they are the same unit. 

 

Realizing my response was not what you were looking for, please know I have documented your feedback here at the corporate headquarters.  Thank you again for all the time you took bringing this to our attention, and I’m still hoping there comes a time where we can get you back through our doors so we can provide you with the service you were looking for.

 

In the meantime, if we can answer any other questions about our prodcuts, or their policies, know we would be more than willing to do so here on the Best Buy forums!

 

Sincerely,

JJ|Social Media Specialist | Best Buy® Corporate
Give Kudos if you like this post or Accept as Solution if it answers your query!
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-14-2017

Re: So disappointed

Yes.  A different color would mean it is a different product in some way.  A different knob would make it a different product.

 

This item is EXACTLY the same with the exception of Best Buy putting its own number on it.